H
HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 921

Sponsors: Representatives T. Moore, Murphy, Jackson, and Insko (Primary Sponsors).

For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.

1

Referred to: Calendar 5/3/2017

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9 10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35 36

April 27, 2017

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE 2017 NCAA CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, on April 3, 2017, the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill men's basketball team won the 2017 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating Gonzaga University by a score of 71-65; and

Whereas, on the road to the final championship game, the Tar Heels defeated some formidable opponents, including the Oregon Ducks (77-76), Kentucky Wildcats (75-73), Butler Bulldogs (92-80), Arkansas Razorbacks (72-65), and Texas Southern Tigers (103-64); and

Whereas, the Tar Heels looked at this year's season as redemption for losing the 2016 National Championship during the final seconds of the game against Villanova University; and

Whereas, the 2017 National Championship marks the sixth Division I NCAA Championship, adding to National Championships in 1957, 1982, 1993, 2005, and 2009; and

Whereas, in NCAA tournament play, UNC has made 48 appearances, been selected as a No. 1 seed 16 times, and played in the Final Four eight different decades; and

Whereas, Head Coach Roy Williams, a Naismith Hall of Fame member, is the first coach to win three NCAA championships at his alma mater; and

Whereas, the Tar Heels were also crowned the 2017 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) regular season champions, improving the program's ACC record to 31 regular season titles; and

Whereas, the entire UNC men's basketball team deserves congratulations and appreciation for an outstanding season and their determination to win the 2017 NCAA Championship; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill men's basketball team for winning the 2017 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly recognizes the perseverance, teamwork, and ensuing triumph of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill men's basketball team members, Joel Berry II, Tony Bradley, Nate Britt, Kanler Coker, Isaiah Hicks, Justin Jackson, Luke Maye, Kennedy Meeks, Theo Pinson, Brandon Robinson, Aaron Rohlman, Shea Rush, Stilman White, Kenny Williams, and Seventh Woods; Head Coach, Roy Williams; Assistant

Stilman White, Kenny Williams, and Seventh Woods; Head Coach, Roy Williams; Assistant Coaches, Hubert Davis, C.R. McGrath, and Stave Pobinson; and other coaching staff members

Coaches, Hubert Davis, C.B. McGrath, and Steve Robinson; and other coaching staff members,

Brad Frederick, Sean May, Jonas Sahratian, and Eric Hoots.



- 1 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall send certified copies of this resolution to 2 Head Coach Roy Williams, the team members and coaches honored in this resolution, Athletic 3 Director Lawrence "Bubba" Cunningham, and Chancellor Carol L. Folt.
- **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification. 4