GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2001**

Η 2

HOUSE BILL 844* Committee Substitute Favorable 4/25/01

Short Title:	Divide District Court District 11.	(Public)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

March 29, 2001

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO DIVIDE DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT ELEVEN INTO A SET OF 3 DISTRICTS FOR ELECTORAL PURPOSES ONLY. 4

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5

6 7

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the "(a) following table:

8 9 County District Judges 10 1 5 11 Camden 12 Chowan 13 Currituck 14 Dare 15 Gates 16 Pasquotank 17 Perquimans 2 Martin 18 4 19 Beaufort 20 **Tyrrell** 21 Hyde Washington 22 23 3A Pitt 5 24 5 3B Craven 25 Pamlico 26 Carteret 27 4 8 Sampson Duplin 28 29 Jones

_			
1			Onslow
2	5	7	New Hanover
3			Pender
4	6A	2	Halifax
5	6B	3	Northampton
6			Bertie
7			Hertford
8	7	7	Nash
9	•	,	Edgecombe
10			Wilson
11	8	6	Wayne
12		S	Greene
13			Lenoir
14	9	4	Granville
15		•	(part of Vance
16			see subsection (b))
17			Franklin
18	9A	2	Person
19)A	<i>2</i>	Caswell
20	9B	2	Warren
21	ЭD	2	(part of Vance
22			see subsection (b))
23	10	14	Wake
23 24	10 11	\frac{8}{8}	Wake Harnett
2 4 25	11	0	Harnett Johnston
26	11 A	2	Lee
27	<u>11A</u>	<u>3</u>	<u>Harnett</u>
28	11D	F	<u>Lee</u>
29	11B	5	<u>Johnston</u>
30	12	9	Cumberland
31	13	6	Bladen
32			Brunswick
33	1.1		Columbus
34	14	6	Durham
35	15A	4	Alamance
36	15B	4	Orange
37		_	Chatham
38	16A	3	Scotland
39			Hoke
40	16B	5	Robeson
41	17A	3	Rockingham
42	17B	3	Stokes

	GENERAL ASS	SEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA	SESSION 2001	
1			Surry	
2	18	12	Guilford	
3	19A	4	Cabarrus	
4	19B	6	Montgomery	
5			Moore	
6			Randolph	
7	19C	4	Rowan	
8	20	7	Stanly	
9			Union	
10			Anson	
11			Richmond	
12	21	8	Forsyth	
13	22	9	Alexander	
14			Davidson	
15			Davie	
16			Iredell	
17	23	4	Alleghany	
18			Ashe	
19			Wilkes	
20			Yadkin	
21	24	4	Avery	
22			Madison	
23			Mitchell	
24			Watauga	
25			Yancey	
26	25	8	Burke	
27			Caldwell	
28			Catawba	
29	26	17	Mecklenburg	
30	27A	6	Gaston	
31	27B	4	Cleveland	
32			Lincoln	
33	28	6	Buncombe	
34	29	6	Henderson	
35			McDowell	
36			Polk	
37			Rutherford	
38			Transylvania	
39	30	5	Cherokee	
40			Clay	
41			Graham	
42			Haywood	

1 Jackson 2 Macon 3 Swain." 4

SECTION 2. G.S. 7A-200(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) In this section:

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19 20

21

22

23

24 25

26

27 28

29 30

31 32

33

34

35

- (1) "District" means any district court district established by G.S. 7A-133 which consists exclusively of one or more entire counties;
- (2) "Set of districts" means (i) any set of two or more district court districts established under G.S. 7A-133, none of which consists exclusively of one or more entire counties, but both or all of which include territory from the same county or counties and together comprise all of the territory of that county or those counties; or (ii) District Court Districts 11A and 11B; and
- "Chief district court judge" means in the case of a set of districts, the (3) chief district court judge for those districts, designated by the chief justice from among the district court judges for the districts in the set of districts."

SECTION 3. The district court judgeships established for District 11A by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from the current District 11 who reside in either Harnett or Lee Counties on October 1, 2002. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2004 election.

SECTION 4. The district court judgeships established for District 11B by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district court judges from the current District 11 who reside in Johnston County on October 1, 2002. The terms of office of two of the judges residing in Johnston County expire on the first Monday in December 2002. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2002 election. The successors to the remaining judges residing in Johnston County shall be elected for four-year terms in the 2004 election.

SECTION 5. This act divides District Court District 11 solely for the purpose of electing judges and does not change the number of judges authorized for District Court District 11, the number of chief district court judges authorized for the district, or the rotation of judges within the district.

SECTION 6. This act becomes effective July 1, 2002, or the date upon which this act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later.