GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION RATIFIED BILL

RESOLUTION 10 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 919

A JOINT RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE MEN'S BASKETBALL PROGRAM AT THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT CHAPEL HILL AND HONORING THE 1992 MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 1993 NCAA DIVISION I CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, the men's basketball program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH) warrants recognition and a commendation for its outstanding record of excellence; and

Whereas, on April 5, 1993, the student athletes on the men's basketball team won the 1993 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating the University of Michigan by a score of 77-71; and

Whereas, this championship is the third NCAA Division I title for the UNC-

CH men's basketball program; and

Whereas, the excellence of the UNC-CH men's basketball program is further exemplified by the many banners decorating the Dean Smith Student Athletic Center that reflect past team accomplishments; the numerous individual and team performance records; the numerous honors, awards, and other recognitions received; and the many thousands of loyal Tar Heel fans; and

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the remarkable athletic

program at the University; and

Whereas, members of the UNC-CH men's basketball program under Head Coach Dean Smith and his coaching staff have excelled not only on the basketball court, but off the basketball court as well; and

Whereas, going into the 1992 season, student athletes and team managers who had participated in the UNC-CH men's basketball program under Head Coach Dean

Smith and his coaching staff had a graduation rate of over 97%; and

Whereas, former members of the UNC-CH men's basketball program have become successful, contributing citizens, and so far 41 players have played professionally, seven are still in graduate school, 13 are attorneys, 18 are doctors, 95 are businessmen, 39 are coaches, two are ministers, one is a pharmacist, three are recreation facility operators, and three are officers in the armed forces; and

Whereas, members of the UNC-CH men's basketball program are positive role

models as athletes and students on and off the basketball court; and

Whereas, for the past 32 seasons, the UNC-CH men's basketball program has been under the leadership of Coach Dean Smith; and

Whereas, Coach Dean Smith is not only an outstanding basketball coach, but

also a highly respected mentor, educator, and motivator; and

Whereas, Coach Dean Smith is known for his system of team work which

stresses discipline, unselfishness, and the true team concept; and

Whereas, Coach Dean Smith is recognized as the second "winningest" basketball coach with an impressive record of 774 wins and 223 losses; he has won 16 Atlantic Coast Conference regular season titles and two NCAA Division I Championships; he is the first coach in the history of the NCAA Tournament to lead a team to the Final Four in four different decades; he has won more NCAA Tournament games than any other coach, reaching the Sweet Sixteen 23 times and the Final Four nine times; and

Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments of the players and coaches of the UNC-CH basketball program bring great honor and distinction to the State of North Carolina, and deserve recognition by the State;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

Section 1. The General Assembly recognizes the outstanding achievements of the men's basketball program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of the people of North Carolina to the men's basketball team at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for winning the 1993 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship. Sec. 2. The General Assembly recognizes the achievements of the 1992 team

Sec. 2. The General Assembly recognizes the achievements of the 1992 team members: Eric Montross, Pat Sullivan, Larry Davis, Henrick Rodl, Scott Cherry, Derrick Phelps, Donald Williams, Dante Calabria, Brian Reese, Kevin Salvadori, George Lynch, Travis Stephenson, Ed Geth, Matt Wenstrom, and Serge Zwikker; Junior Varsity members and team managers; Head Coach Dean Smith; assistant coaches: Bill Guthridge, Phil Ford, and Randy Wiel; and other staff.

Sec. 3. The Secretary of State shall send certified copies of this resolution to Athletic Director John Swofford and to all individuals honored in this resolution.

Sec. 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of April, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives