GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1993

S

1

SENATE BILL 1722

Short Title: Senate President's Appointments.

(Public)

Sponsors: Senator Cooper.

Referred to: Rules and Operation of the Senate.

July 1, 1994

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2	AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE
3	RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE.
4	Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain
5	appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate;
6	and
7	Whereas, the President of the Senate has made recommendations; Now,
8	therefore,
9	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
10	Section 1. Susan B. Roderick of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board
11	of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term expiring June 30,
12	1998.
13	Sec. 2. Debi Harrell of Cleveland County and Diana J. Wilson of Chowan
14	County are appointed to the Child-Day Care Commission for a term expiring June 30,
15	1996. Debi Harrell is a categorical appointment for a person affiliated with a for-profit
16	child day care center. Diana J. Wilson is a categorical appointment for a person
17	affiliated with a nonprofit center or home.
18	Sec. 3. Kim Dove of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Board
19	of Dietetics/Nutrition for a term expiring June 30, 1997. This is a categorical
20	appointment for a licensed dietitian/nutritionist.
21	Sec. 4. Regina L. Hopkins of Lenoir County is appointed to the Low-Level
22	Radioactive Waste Management Authority for a term ending June 30, 1998.

1

1	Sec. 5. James Vann of Person County is appointed to the Board of Trustees
2	of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term
3	ending June 30, 1996.
4	Sec. 6. Kathy Barger of Pitt County is appointed to the North Carolina
5	Medical Database Commission for a term ending June 30, 1997. This is a categorical
6	appointment for a hospital administrator.
7	Sec. 7. Ken Haigler of Pitt County is appointed to the North Carolina State
8	Ports Authority for a term ending June 30, 1996.
9	Sec. 8. Sherman Guillyard of Bladen County is appointed to the Private
10	Protective Services Board for a term ending June 30, 1997.
11	Sec. 9. Teresa Smallwood of Bertie County and Vernice B. Howard of
12	Hertford County are appointed to the Rules Review Commission for terms ending June
13	30, 1996.
14	Sec. 10. John Talbot Johnson of Moore County is appointed to the State
15	Building Commission for a term ending June 30, 1997.
16	Sec. 11. Wayne Pollock of Durham County is appointed to the State Board of
17	Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board for a term ending June 30, 1995. This is a
18	categorical appointment for a recreation therapist.
19	Sec. 12. Lula Herring of Pender County is appointed to the State Board of
20	Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board for a term ending June 30, 1997. This is a
21	categorical appointment for a public member to the Board.
22	Sec. 13. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for
23	terms to begin upon ratification.
24	Sec. 14. This act is effective upon ratification.

1993