GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1993 SESSION

CHAPTER 221 HOUSE BILL 320

AN ACT TO REPEAL THE PROHIBITIONS ON HUNTING MALE DEER ON THE OUTER BANKS OF CURRITUCK COUNTY AND ON BEAR HUNTING IN CURRITUCK COUNTY, AND TO AUTHORIZE SEASONS FOR TAKING DEER WITH SHOTGUNS ON A PORTION OF THE OUTER BANKS OF CURRITUCK COUNTY AND FOR HUNTING BLACK BEARS IN CURRITUCK COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Chapter 494 of the 1977 Session Laws is repealed.

Sec. 2. Section 3 of Chapter 582 of the 1979 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3. This act applies only to the counties of Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington."

Sec. 3. G.S. 113-133.1(e) is amended by deleting: "Currituck: Session Laws 1959, Chapter 545; Session Laws 1977, Chapter 494; Session Laws 1979, Chapter 582.", and substituting "Currituck: Session Laws 1959, Chapter 545."

Sec. 4. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season for hunting or taking antlered deer with shotguns no larger than 10 gauge in:

- (1) That portion of Poplar Branch Township on the Outer Banks of Currituck County; and
- (2) The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Swan Island and Monkey Island Refuge Areas on the Outer Banks of Currituck County;

from October 18, 1993, through January 1, 1994, and in subsequent years as established by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

Sec. 5. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, there is an open season for hunting or taking black bear in:

- (1) That portion of Currituck County south and west of U.S. Highway 158;
- (2) All of Poplar Branch Township except that portion on the Outer Banks of Currituck County; and
- (3) All of Crawford Township south and east of N.C. Highway 34 to Sligo and south and west of U.S. Highway 168 from Sligo to Barco;

from November 8, 1993, through November 13, 1993, and in subsequent years as established by the Wildlife Resources Commission.

- Sec. 6. This act applies only to Currituck County.
- Sec. 7. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 28th day of June, 1993.

Dennis A. Wicker President of the Senate

Daniel Blue, Jr. Speaker of the House of Representatives