(a) Upon notification by a law enforcement agency or the North Carolina Center for Missing Persons of a child's disappearance, the superintendent of a local school administrative unit or his designee shall flag or mark the record of any child who is currently or was previously enrolled in a school of that unit and who is reported as missing. The flag or mark shall be made in such a manner that when a copy of or information regarding the record is requested, school personnel are alerted to the fact that the record is that of a missing child.
Before providing a copy of the school record or other information concerning the child whose record is flagged pursuant to this section, the superintendent or his designee shall notify the agency that requested that the record be flagged of every inquiry made concerning the flagged record, and shall provide a copy to the agency of any written request for information concerning the flagged record.
(b) When any child transfers from one school system to another school system, the receiving school shall, within 30 days of the child's enrollment, obtain the child's record from the school from which the child is transferring. If the child's parent, custodian, or guardian provides a copy of the child's record from the school from which the child is transferring, the receiving school shall, within 30 days of the child's enrollment, request written verification of the school record by contacting the school or institution named on the transferring child's record. Upon receipt of a request, the principal or the principal's designee of the school from which the child is transferring shall not withhold the record or verification for any reason, except as is authorized under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. Any information received indicating that the transferring child is a missing child shall be reported to the North Carolina Center for Missing Persons. (1989, c. 331, s. 1; 1998-220, s. 12.)