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§ 58‑33‑70. Special provisions for adjusters and motor vehicle damage appraisers.
(a) It shall be unlawful and cause for revocation of license for a licensed adjuster to

engage in the practice of law.
(b) On behalf and on request of an insurer by which an insurance producer or limited

representative is appointed, the insurance producer or limited representative may from time to
time act as an adjuster and investigate and report upon claims without being licensed as an
adjuster. No insurance producer or limited representative shall adjust any losses where the
insurance producer's or limited representative's remuneration for the sale of insurance is in any
way dependent upon the adjustment of those losses.

(c) Upon the filing of the application for an adjuster's license, the advance payment of the
examination fee, and the filing with the Commissioner of a certificate signed by the applicant's
employer, the Commissioner may issue a learner's permit authorizing the applicant to act as an
adjuster for a learning period of 90 days without a requirement of any other license. Not more
than one learner's permit shall ever be issued to one individual. The employer's certificate
required by this subsection shall certify that:

(1) The applicant is an individual of good character.
(2) The applicant is employed by the signer of the certificate.
(3) The applicant will operate as a student or learner under the instruction and

general supervision of a licensed adjuster.
(4) The employer will be responsible for the adjustment acts of the applicant

during the learning period.
(d) Repealed by Session Laws 1998‑211, s. 19, effective November 1, 1998.
(e) The Commissioner may permit an experienced adjuster, who regularly adjusts in

another state and who is licensed in the other state (if that state requires a license), to act as an
adjuster in this State without a North Carolina license only for an insurance company authorized
to do business in this State, for emergency insurance adjustment work, for a period to be
determined by the Commissioner, done for an employer who is an adjuster licensed by this State
or who is a regular employer of one or more adjusters licensed by this State; provided that the
employer shall furnish to the Commissioner a notice in writing immediately upon the beginning
of any such emergency insurance adjustment work. As used in this subsection, "emergency
insurance adjustment work" includes, but is not limited to, (i) adjusting of a single loss or losses
arising out of an event or catastrophe common to all of those losses or (ii) adjusting losses in any
area declared to be a state of emergency or disaster by the Governor under G.S. 166A‑19.20 or
G.S. 166A‑19.21 or by the President of the United States under applicable federal law.

(f) The Commissioner may permit an experienced motor vehicle damage appraiser who
is regularly appraising in another state and who is licensed in such other state (if that state requires
a license) to act as a motor vehicle damage appraiser in this State without a North Carolina license
for emergency motor vehicle damage appraisal work for a period not exceeding 30 days done for
an employer who notifies the Commissioner, in writing, at the beginning of the period of
emergency appraisal work and who is:

(1) An insurance adjuster licensed by this State;
(2) A motor vehicle damage appraiser licensed by this State;
(3) A regular employer of one or more insurance adjusters licensed by this State;

or
(4) A regular employer of one or more motor vehicle damage appraisers licensed

by this State. (1987, c. 629, s. 1; 1998‑211, s. 19; 2012‑12, s. 2(l); 2013‑199, s.
22(c); 2022‑46, s. 13(a).)


