## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

## SENATE BILL 911 RATIFIED BILL

## AN ACT REGARDING ANNEXATION BY THE TOWN OF LELAND.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

..

- (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:
  - (1) The nearest point on the proposed satellite corporate limits must be not more than three-one and one-half miles from the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

..

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Dobson. Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

. . .

(c) The petition shall contain the names, addresses, and signatures of all owners of real property within the proposed satellite corporate limits (except owners not required to sign by subsection (a)), shall describe the area proposed for annexation by metes and bounds, and shall have attached thereto a map showing the area proposed for annexation with relation to the



primary corporate limits of the annexing city. The petition shall also contain a statement from the owner that the owner's petition for annexation is not based upon any representation by the municipality that a public enterprise service available outside the corporate limits of that municipality would be withheld from the owner's property without the petition for annexation. When there is any substantial question as to whether the area may be closer to another city than to the annexing city, the map shall also show the area proposed for annexation with relation to the primary corporate limits of the other city. The city council may prescribe the form of the petition.

...."

**SECTION 2.** This act applies only to the Town of Leland.

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to petitions for annexation received on or after that date.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2022.

s/ Phil Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives