GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

SENATE BILL 728 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO MAKE APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARDS OF TRUSTEES FOR THE CONSTITUENT INSTITUTIONS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Whereas, G.S. 116-31 authorizes the General Assembly to make appointments to the board of trustees of each of the constituent institutions of The University of North Carolina upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate pursuant to G.S. 120-121; and

Whereas, the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives have made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 1.1. Steven D. Wyatt of Henderson County is appointed to the Appalachian State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.2. Jeffrey Roberts of Martin County is appointed to the East Carolina University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.3. Justin L. Waddell of Fairfax County, Virginia, is appointed to the Elizabeth City State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.4. Frederick D. Nelson, Jr., of Johnston County is appointed to the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.5. Calvin R. Brodie of Franklin County is appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.6. Emily M. Dickens of Durham County is appointed to the North Carolina Central University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.7. Catherine B. Mitchell of Buncombe County, Fredrick L. Reese of Henderson County, and Dr. Anthony Negbenebor of Cleveland County are appointed to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees for terms effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.8. Lonnie C. "Ven" Poole, III of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.9. James S. Peterson of Buncombe County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Asheville Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.



SECTION 1.10. Dennis Bunker of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Charlotte Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.11. George Hoyle of Guilford County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Greensboro Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.12. Anna Michelle Ingram of Brunswick County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.13. Kyle E. Petty of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.14. Robert Rippy of New Hanover County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.15. William M. Kotis, III, of Guilford County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.16. Joseph D. Crocker of Forsyth County is appointed to the Western Carolina University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.17. Robert Barr of Forsyth County is appointed to the Winston-Salem State University Board of Trustees to a term effective July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

PART II. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. James E. Harris of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Appalachian State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.2. Vincent C. Smith of Fairfax County, Virginia, is appointed to the East Carolina University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.3. James R. Copland, IV, of Craven County is appointed to the Elizabeth City State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.4. Dr. William Warner of Columbus County is appointed to the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.5. The Honorable Paul Jones of Guilford County is appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.6. James Walker of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the North Carolina Central University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.7. James Harrell of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.8. The Honorable Charles McGrady of Henderson County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Asheville Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.9. Vinay B. Patel of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.10. The Honorable Teross Young of Iredell County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Charlotte Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.11. Allison Harrington of Robeson County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.12. Charles F. McDowell, IV, of Davidson County is appointed to the University of North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.13. The Honorable Holly Grange of New Hanover County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.14. The Honorable William Brawley of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Western Carolina University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.15. Dr. Ricky Sides of Forsyth County is appointed to the Winston-Salem State University Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.16. Robert M. Freeman of Cabarrus County, Dr. Ellen C. Collett of Burke County, and Kamal Kolappa, M.D., of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics Board of Trustees to terms to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

SECTION 2.17. William A. "Dean" Priddy of Guilford County is appointed to the University of North Carolina at Greensboro Board of Trustees to a term to begin July 1, 2021, and to expire June 30, 2025.

PART III. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 3.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30th day of June, 2021.

> s/ Phil Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Destin Hall

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives