GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

S 4

SENATE BILL 41

State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 2/24/21 Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 3/3/21 House Committee Substitute Favorable 6/24/21

(Local)

Remove Certain Satellite Annexation Caps.

	` ′
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
	February 3, 2021
KINGS M FRANKLIN The General As SEC	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED OVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE CITIES OF OUNTAIN, LOWELL, AND SHELBY AND THE TOWNS OF IVILLE, LIBERTY, RAMSEUR, STANLEY, AND VASS. sembly of North Carolina enacts: TION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: Petition for annexation; standards.
(b) A no standards:	oncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
(5)	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont,

Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

34"

Short Title:

16 17

18

19 20

21 22

23

24

25

26

27

28 29

30

31

32

33



1

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.