GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

S

FILED SENATE Feb 2, 2021 **S.B. 41** PRINCIPAL CLERK D

SENATE BILL DRS35014-LMx-7A*

Short Title:	Stanley/Remove Satellite Annexation Cap.		
Sponsors:	Senator Alexander (Primary Sponsor).		
Referred to:			

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1			A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT	REMO	OVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF
3	STAN		
4	The Gene	ral Ass	sembly of North Carolina enacts:
5		SEC"	TION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:
6	"§ 160A-:	58.1. I	Petition for annexation; standards.
7			
8	(b)	A no	oncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
9	standards		
10			
11		(5)	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area
12			within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%)
13			of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
14			This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont,
15			Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville,
16			Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,
17			Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda,
18			Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of
19			Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn,
20			Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia,
21			Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin,
22			Franklinton, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level,
23			Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills,
24			Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland,
25			Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville,
26			Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville,
27			Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville,
28			Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City,
29			Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City,
30			Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,
31			Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor,
32			Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.
33	"		

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

34

