GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

S 2

SENATE BILL 171 Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 3/9/21

Short Title:	Belville/Wingate Sat. Annex./Surf Cty Deannex.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

March 2, 2021

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF

BELVILLE AND WINGATE AND REMOVING CERTAIN DESCRIBED PROPERTY

FROM THE CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE TOWN OF SURF CITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

8 ...

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10 11 12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19 20

21

2223

24

2526

27

28 29

30

31 32

33

35

36

5

6

7

9

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

34"

SECTION 2.(a) The following described property is removed from the corporate limits of the Town of Surf City:



Beginning at a new iron in the southern line of Sharks Landing, a 45' access easement, said beginning point being located the following courses and distances from an existing iron found within the 45' access easement known as Oscar Edens Rd. and said existing iron also being the western corner of the George Grubbs property (Deed Book 4637, Page 2945):

 1. S47°43'18"E 201.04' to an existing iron in the southeastern corner of said George Grubbs property, and being a common corner with Lot 1 of the Cordts Family Division, thence,

 2. S47°45'52"E 551.62' to an existing iron in the southern line of Sharks Landing, a common corner of Lots 3 & 4 of Cordts Family Division as shown in Map Book 63, Page 94, thence,

Thence, from said point of beginning N39°50'13"E 245.11' with the dividing line of Lots 3 & 4 to an existing iron, thence, S47°52'09"E 40.0' to a point, thence, S39°50'13"W 200.48' to a point on the northern line of Sharks Landing, thence, S47°47'25"E 651.92' to a point in the western right-of-way of Cordts Lane, thence, S39°47'36"W 45.03' along the right-of-way of Cordts Lane, thence, N47°45'42"W 692.00' along the southern line of Sharks Landing to the place and point of beginning, containing 0.90 acres, as surveyed by Weston Lyall, PLS.

SECTION 2.(b) This section has no effect upon the validity of any liens of the Town of Surf City for ad valorem taxes or special assessments outstanding before the effective date of this section. Such liens may be collected or foreclosed upon after the effective date of this section as though the property were still within the corporate limits of the Town of Surf City.

SECTION 2.(c) This section becomes effective June 30, 2021. Property in the territory described in this section as of January 1, 2021, is no longer subject to municipal taxes for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2021.

SECTION 3. Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law.