GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2021**

S

SENATE BILL 171

	Short Title:	Wingate/Remove Cap on Satellite Annexations. (Local)
	Sponsors:	Senator Johnson (Primary Sponsor).
	Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate
		March 2, 2021
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	WINGAT The General SI	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED EMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF TE. Assembly of North Carolina enacts: ECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: I. Petition for annexation; standards.
8 9 10	(b) A standards:	noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26	(5	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville,
27 28 29 30 31 32 33	"	Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, <u>Wingate</u> , Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.
34	SI	ECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

