## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

FILED SENATE
Feb 22, 2021
S.B. 120
PRINCIPAL CLERK
D

 $\mathbf{S}$ 

1

2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10 11

12

13

14 15

16

17

18 19

20 21

22

23

24

25

2627

28

29

30 31

32 33 34

## SENATE BILL DRS45082-LMx-38

Short Title: Town of Vass/Cap on Satellite Annexations. (Local) Senator McInnis (Primary Sponsor). Sponsors: Referred to: A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF VASS. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards. (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards: (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

