GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

Η

H.B. 375
Mar 23, 2021
HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

HOUSE BILL DRH40242-LMx-68

Short Title:	Franklinville/Liberty/Ramseur/Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative McNeill.	
Referred to:		

1 2	AN ACT I	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWNS OF		
3	FRANKLINVILLE, LIBERTY, AND RAMSEUR.			
4		al Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
5		SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:		
6	"§ 160A-5	8.1. Petition for annexation; standards.		
7	••••			
8	(b)	A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following		
9	standards:			
10				
11		(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area		
12		within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%)		
13		of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.		
14		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont,		
15		Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville,		
16		Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern,		
17		Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda,		
18		Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of		
19		Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn,		
20		Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia,		
21		Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin,		
22		Franklinton, <u>Franklinville</u> , Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry,		
23		Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs,		
24		Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly,		
25		Knightdale, Landis, Leland, <u>Liberty,</u> Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley,		
26		Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville,		
27		Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine		
28		Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, <u>Ramseur</u> , Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Butherfordton, Shellotta, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem		
29 30		Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace,		
		Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's		
31 32		Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.		
32 33	"			
33 34	••••	SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.		
34		SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.		

