GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

Η

H.B. 356
Mar 22, 2021
HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

HOUSE BILL DRH10161-LG-31

	Short Title: Speaker/PPT Appointments 2021.	(Public)	
	Sponsors: Representative D. Hall.		
	Referred to:		
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED		
2	AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC	OFFICES UPON THE	
3	RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE (OF REPRESENTATIVES	
4	AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.		
5	Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain		
6	appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of		
7	Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and		
8	Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore		
9	of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,		
10	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
11			
12	PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS		
13	SECTION 1.1. Chief John T. Cole of Alamance County is appointed to the 911		
14 15	Board for a term expiring on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Cecil V. "Buddy"		
15 16	Martinette, Jr.		
10	SECTION 1.2. Dr. Scott A. Playford of Onslow County is appointed to the Boxing Advisory Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2023.		
18	SECTION 1.3.(a) Dr. Edward C. Jauch of Buncombe County is appointed to the		
19	North Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2023, to fill		
20	the unexpired term of Dr. Ryan Lamb.		
21	SECTION 1.3.(b) Todd Bennett of Cabarrus County i	is appointed to the North	
22	Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on Septen		
23	SECTION 1.4. Effective March 1, 2021, Ricky Parks of		
24	Tessener of Wake County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring		
25	on February 28, 2023.		
26	SECTION 1.5. Dr. Rocco F. DiSanto of Burke County an	d Dr. Gerald W. Poplin of	
27	Stanly County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms expiring		
28	on January 1, 2023.		
29	SECTION 1.6. Brian Gwyn of Cleveland County is appoi		
30	Institute of Medicine for a term expiring on December 31, 2023, to fill	l the unexpired term of Dr.	
31	Costa Andreou.		
27	SECTION 17 The Honorphic Barbara Lockson of Wake	County is appointed to the	

SECTION 1.7. The Honorable Barbara Jackson of Wake County is appointed to the 33 Rules Review Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of 34 Garth Dunklin.



	General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2021		
1	SECTION 1.8. Peter J. Juran of Forsyth County is appointed to the University of		
2	North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill		
3	the unexpired term of Philip Horne.		
4	SECTION 1.9. The Honorable Charles McGrady of Buncombe County is appointed		
5	to the University of North Carolina at Asheville Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June		
6	30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of James W. Davis.		
7			
8	PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS		
9	SECTION 2.1. Andrew H. "Sandy" Weathersbee of Mecklenburg County is		
10	appointed to the North Carolina Partnership for Children Board of Directors for a term expiring		
11	on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Terra Flint.		
12			
13	the Education Commission of the States for a term expiring on December 31, 2022.		
14	3 0 5 5		
15	1 2 11		
16	expiring on February 28, 2023.		
17	SECTION 2.4. The Honorable Robert "Bob" Rucho of Brunswick County is		
18	appointed to the Rules Review Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the		
19	unexpired term of the Honorable Tommy Tucker.		
20	SECTION 2.5. Todd Godbey of New Hanover County is appointed to the Charter		
21	Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of		
22	Jeanette Butterworth.		
23	SECTION 2.6. John M. Check of Nash County is appointed to the Judicial Standards		
24	Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Col. Grady H.		
25	Hawkins.		
26	SECTION 2.7. Dr. Jimmy T. Tate of Pender County is appointed to the University		
27	of North Carolina at Wilmington Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill		
28	the unexpired term of the Honorable Michael Lee.		
29	SECTION 2.8. The Honorable Jeffery P. Tarte of Mecklenburg County and Keith		
30	D. Briggs of Wake County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms		
31	expiring on January 1, 2023.		
32			
33	PART III. EFFECTIVE DATE		
34 25	SECTION 3.1. Unless otherwise provided, appointments shall begin upon the		
35	effective date of this act.		
36	SECTION 3.2. This act is effective when it becomes law.		