GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2021**

Н 2

HOUSE BILL 19

Senate State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 6/2/21

Short Title:	Remove Various Satellite Annexation Caps.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		
	January 28, 2021	

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR VARIOUS 3 MUNICIPALITIES. 4

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

7

5

6

8

9

11

12

13

14

15

16 17

18

19 20

21 22

23

24

25 26

27

28

29

30

31 32

34

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

33"

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

