H HOUSE BILL 19

Short Title:	Norwood/Remove Cap on Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representatives Sasser and Moss (Primary Sponsors). For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.	
Referred to:	Local Government, if favorable, Finance, if favorable, Rules, Calen Operations of the House	dar, and

January 28, 2021

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF NORWOOD.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

...

4

5

6

7 8

9

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

2425

26

27

28 29

30

31 32 (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10 ...

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Norwood, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

33" 34 **SECTION**:

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

