GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

H.B. 19 Jan 27, 2021 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

Н

HOUSE BILL DRH30013-LMx-19

Short Title: Norwood/Remove Cap on Satellite Annexations. (Local) Representative Sasser. Sponsors: Referred to: 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF 3 NORWOOD. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: 6 "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards. 7 8 (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 9 standards: 10 11 (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area 12 within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 13 14 This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, 15 Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, 16 Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, 17 Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of 18 19 Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, 20 21 Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, 22 Franklinton, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, 23 Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, 24 Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, 25 Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, 26 27 Norwood, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, 28 Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, 29 Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, 30 31 Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon. 32 33

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

34

