GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

S SENATE RESOLUTION 693

Sponsors:	Senator Nickel (Primary Sponsor).
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate

October 31, 2019

A SENATE RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING THE NORTH CAROLINA COURAGE ON WINNING ITS SECOND STRAIGHT NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, North Carolina is home to the North Carolina Courage, a national women's professional soccer team which plays at Sahlen's Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary; and Whereas, the Courage currently consists of 25 players representing six countries, including Stephanie Labbé, Katelyn Rowland, Abby Dahlkemper, Abby Erceg, Jaelene Hinkle, Kaleigh Kurtz, McKenzie Meehan, Merritt Mathias, Debinha, Samantha Mewis, Heather O'Reilly, Denise O'Sullivan, Cari Roccaro, Meredith Speck, Julia Spetsmark, Ryan Williams, McCall Zerboni, Crystal Dunn, Kristen Hamilton, Jessica McDonald, Lynn Williams, Leah Pruitt, Hailey Harbison, Lauren Milliet, and Sam Leshnak; and

Whereas, Paul Riley serves as the team's head coach, and Scott Vallow, Sean Nahas, Nathan Thackeray, and Bill Palladino serve as the team's assistant coaches; and

Whereas, for each of the past three years, the team has received the National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) Shield for having the best regular season record; and

Whereas, on October 27, 2019, the Courage defeated the Chicago Red Stars to win its second straight NWSL Championship in front of a record crowd of 10,227 people on their home field; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate:

1 2

SECTION 1. The Senate recognizes the North Carolina Courage as the best women's soccer team in the United States and congratulates the team's players and coaching staff, along with the team's president and general manager, Curt Johnson, and owner, Stephen Malik, on winning the 2019 National Women's Soccer League Championship.

SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a copy of this resolution to the owner of the North Carolina Courage.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

