GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H HOUSE BILL 427

Short Title:	Add'l District Court Judge District 18.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Representatives Faircloth, Hardister, and Harrison (Primary Sponsors). For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly we	eb site.
Referred to:	red to: Judiciary, if favorable, Appropriations, Justice and Public Safety, if favorable, Appropriations, if favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House	

March 25, 2019

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ADD ONE DISTRICT COURT JUDGE TO DISTRICT 18 AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4

5

6

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

/	following table:		
8	<u>District</u>	<u>Judges</u>	<u>County</u>
9	1	5	Camden
10			Chowan
11			Currituck
12			Dare
13			Gates
14			Pasquotank
15			Perquimans
16	2	4	Martin
17			Beaufort
18			Tyrrell
19			Hyde
20			Washington
21	3A	5	Pitt
22	3B	6	Craven
23			Pamlico
24			Carteret
25	4	8	Sampson
26			Duplin
27			Jones
28			Onslow
29	5	9	New Hanover
30			Pender
31	6	4	Northampton
32			Bertie
33			Hertford
34			Halifax



7	Nash Edgecombe
6	
6	TT 7*1
6	Wilson
6	Wayne
	Greene
	Lenoir
5	Granville
-	(part of Vance
	see subsection
	(b))
	Franklin
	Person
2	Warren
2	(part of Vance
	•
2	see subsection (b))
3	(part of Wake
2	see subsection (b))
3	(part of Wake
	see subsection (b))
3	(part of Wake
	see subsection (b))
6	(part of Wake
	see subsection (b))
3	(part of Wake
	see subsection (b))
3	(part of Wake
	see subsection (b))
11	Harnett
	Johnston
	Lee
10	Cumberland
	Bladen
<u> </u>	Brunswick
	Columbus
7	Durham
	Alamance
4	
3	Orange
4	Chatham
4	Scotland
	Anson
	Richmond
	Robeson
4	Caswell
	Rockingham
4	Stokes
	Surry
14 <u>15</u>	Guilford
	Cabarrus
	Randolph
5	Rowan
	Hoke, Moore
	3 11 10 6 7 4 5 4

General Assembly Of N	North Carolina	Session 2019
20A	3	Montgomery, Stanly
20B	1	(part of Union
		see subsection
		(b))
20C	2	(part of Union
		see subsection
		(b))
20D	1	Union
21	11	Forsyth
22A	5	Alexander
		Iredell
22B	6	Davidson
		Davie
23	4	Alleghany
		Ashe
		Wilkes
		Yadkin
24	4	Avery
		Madison
		Mitchell
		Watauga
		Yancey
25	9	Burke
23	,	Caldwell
		Catawba
26A	3	(part of
2011	3	Mecklenburg
		see subsection (b))
26B	3	(part of
200	3	Mecklenburg
		see subsection (b))
26C	2	(part of
20C	2	
		Mecklenburg
26D	2	see subsection (b))
26D	2	(part of
		Mecklenburg
26E	2	see subsection (b))
26E	3	(part of
		Mecklenburg
A 477		see subsection (b))
26F	3	(part of
		Mecklenburg
	_	see subsection (b))
26G	2	(part of
		Mecklenburg
		see subsection (b))
26H	3	(part of
		Mecklenburg
		see subsection (b))
27A	7	Gaston
		Cleveland

General Assembly Of North Carolina		Session 2019	
		Lincoln	
28	7	Buncombe	
29A	3	McDowell	
		Rutherford	
29B	4	Henderson	
		Polk	
		Transylvania	
30	6	Cherokee	
		Clay	
		Graham	
		Haywood	
		Jackson	
		Macon	
		Swain."	

SECTION 2. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative Office of the Courts the sum of one hundred nine thousand two hundred twenty-three dollars (\$109,223) in fiscal year 2020-2021 and one hundred ninety-eight thousand five hundred eighty-eight dollars (\$198,588) in fiscal year 2021-2022.

SECTION 3. Section 1 of this act becomes effective January 1, 2021, and elections conducted in 2020 shall be conducted in accordance with the judgeship created in Section 1. The remainder of this act is effective July 1, 2020.