GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H 2

HOUSE BILL 262 Committee Substitute Favorable 3/27/19

Short Title: Designate Transylvania Cty Land of Waterfalls. (Public) Sponsors: Referred to:

March 5, 2019 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT DESIGNATING THE CITY OF BREVARD, TOWN OF ROSMAN, AND TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY AS NORTH CAROLINA'S OFFICIAL LAND OF WATERFALLS. Whereas, Transylvania County has 250 official waterfalls; and Whereas, "Land of Waterfalls" has been used to describe the area since the early 1900s, including the City of Brevard's and Transylvania County's official seal and logo, respectively; and Whereas, this area has a long history as a tourist destination, with enjoyment of waterfalls consistently listed on visitor surveys as a primary reason for visitation; and Whereas, this area features numerous iconic and nationally known waterfalls, like Looking Glass Falls, Sliding Rock, Hooker Falls, High Falls, Triple Falls, Rainbow Falls, and more; and Whereas, Transylvania County's iconic waterfalls have been a part of dozens of feature films, including Thunder Road, The Last of the Mohicans, and The Hunger Games, as well as many national television shows like Lassie and The Oprah Winfrey Show; and Whereas, Transylvania County is blessed with five public lands—Pisgah National Forest, DuPont State Recreational Forest, Gorges State Park, Headwaters State Forest, and Nantahala National Forest—all of which celebrate their own unique waterfalls; and Whereas, millions of visitors come to the area annually to visit the many waterfalls; and Whereas, this area is considered as a highly desirable place to live with the incredible Whereas, the City of Brevard, the Town of Rosman, and Transylvania County should be designated as North Carolina's official land of waterfalls; Now, therefore,

outdoor opportunities, including enjoyment of waterfalls, as a top reason; and

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Chapter 145 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new section to read:

"§ 145-52. Official land of waterfalls.

1

2

3 4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16 17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

25 26

27 28

29

30

31 32

The City of Brevard, the Town of Rosman, and Transylvania County are designated as North Carolina's official land of waterfalls."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

