## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

Η

1

## HOUSE BILL 1154

Short Title:	Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority. (Local)	
Sponsors:	Sponsors:Representatives McGrady and Fisher (Primary Sponsors).For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.	
Referred to:	State and Local Government, if favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House	

May 19, 2020

## A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

- AN ACT FURTHER STAGGERING THE TERMS OF SOME MEMBERS OF THE
  GREATER ASHEVILLE REGIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY TO PROVIDE
  INCREASED CONTINUITY OF SERVICE ON THE AUTHORITY.
- 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
- 6 **SECTION 1.** Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52, reads 7 as rewritten:

8 "SECTION 1.4.(c) Members of the Authority shall serve four-year terms and may serve up 9 to a total of two successive four-year terms. A member may not be reappointed to the Authority 10 except after a lapse of four years following the most recent term served. In the event a member is appointed to fill an unexpired term, and at least two years of the unexpired term remain to be 11 12 served, such appointment shall be counted in applying the two-term limit; otherwise it shall not be counted. Notwithstanding the foregoing, those individuals serving as ARAA members as of 13 14 the effective date of this act may continue to serve as members of the Authority until the 15 completion of their respective then current terms and until their successors are appointed and 16 qualified. In the event an ARAA member resigns or is removed, the appointing authority under the agreement between the County of Buncombe and the City of Asheville shall forthwith appoint 17 18 a replacement ARAA member to complete the unexpired term. Thereafter, and with respect to 19 the four ARAA members whose terms expire June 30, 2012, the Asheville City Council, the 20 Board of Commissioners of Buncombe County, and the Board of Commissioners of Henderson 21 County each shall appoint one member of the Authority, and the other members shall appoint, 22 by majority vote, the fourth member. With respect to the three ARRA members whose terms expire June 30, 2014, the Asheville City Council, the Board of Commissioners of Buncombe 23 24 County, and the Board of Commissioners of Henderson County each shall appoint one member 25 of the Authority." 26 **SECTION 2.** Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the following members 27 of the Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority shall be appointed as follows to further 28 stagger the terms of the members of the Authority:

29(1)One member appointed by majority vote of the other six members of the30Authority shall be appointed for a term of one year, which shall begin on July311, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2021. Upon the expiration of the one-year32term, one member appointed by majority vote of the other six members of the33Authority shall serve for a term of four years as provided for in Section 1.4(c)34of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52. The initial one-year term



1

	General Assembly Of North CarolinaSession 2019
1	provided for in this subdivision shall not count in applying the two-term limit
2	provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52.
3	(2) One registered voter of the City of Asheville appointed by the Asheville City
4	Council shall be appointed for a term of three years, which shall begin on July
5	1, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2023. Upon the expiration of the three-year
6	term, one registered voter of the City of Asheville shall be appointed by the
7	Asheville City Council for a term of four years as provided for in Section
8	1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52. The initial three-year
9	term provided for in this subdivision shall count in applying the two-term limit
10	provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52.
11	(3) One registered voter of Henderson County shall be appointed by the Board of
12	Commissioners of Henderson County for a term of three years, which shall
13	begin on July 1, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2023. Upon the expiration of
14	the three-year term, one registered voter of Henderson County shall be
15	appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Henderson County for a term of
16	four years as provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by
17	S.L. 2014-52. The initial three-year term provided for in this subdivision shall
18	count in applying the two-term limit provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L.
19	2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52.
20	<b>SECTION 3.</b> Except as provided in Section 2 of this act, the provisions of Section
21	1.4 of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by Section 69.1 of S.L. 2012-194 and S.L. 2014-52, shall apply
22	to the appointment of members appointed as provided in Section 2 of this act.
23	<b>SECTION 4.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.