GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H.B. 1154 May 19, 2020 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

HOUSE BILL DRH40597-LM-112A

Short Title: Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority. (Local)

Sponsors: Representative McGrady.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT FURTHER STAGGERING THE TERMS OF SOME MEMBERS OF THE GREATER ASHEVILLE REGIONAL AIRPORT AUTHORITY TO PROVIDE INCREASED CONTINUITY OF SERVICE ON THE AUTHORITY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52, reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.4.(c) Members of the Authority shall serve four-year terms and may serve up to a total of two successive four-year terms. A member may not be reappointed to the Authority except after a lapse of four years following the most recent term served. In the event a member is appointed to fill an unexpired term, and at least two years of the unexpired term remain to be served, such appointment shall be counted in applying the two-term limit; otherwise it shall not be counted. Notwithstanding the foregoing, those individuals serving as ARAA members as of the effective date of this act may continue to serve as members of the Authority until the completion of their respective then current terms and until their successors are appointed and qualified. In the event an ARAA member resigns or is removed, the appointing authority under the agreement between the County of Buncombe and the City of Asheville shall forthwith appoint a replacement ARAA member to complete the unexpired term. Thereafter, and with respect to the four ARAA members whose terms expire June 30, 2012, the Asheville City Council, the Board of Commissioners of Buncombe County, and the Board of Commissioners of Henderson County each shall appoint one member of the Authority, and the other members shall appoint, by majority vote, the fourth member. With respect to the three ARRA members whose terms expire June 30, 2014, the Asheville City Council, the Board of Commissioners of Buncombe County, and the Board of Commissioners of Henderson County each shall appoint one member of the Authority."

SECTION 2. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the following members of the Greater Asheville Regional Airport Authority shall be appointed as follows to further stagger the terms of the members of the Authority:

(1) One member appointed by majority vote of the other six members of the Authority shall be appointed for a term of one year, which shall begin on July 1, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2021. Upon the expiration of the one-year term, one member appointed by majority vote of the other six members of the Authority shall serve for a term of four years as provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52. The initial one-year term provided for in this subdivision shall not count in applying the two-term limit provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52.



Η

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34

35

36

18

19

20

21

One registered voter of the City of Asheville appointed by the Asheville City 1 (2) 2 Council shall be appointed for a term of three years, which shall begin on July 3 1, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2023. Upon the expiration of the three-year 4 term, one registered voter of the City of Asheville shall be appointed by the 5 Asheville City Council for a term of four years as provided for in Section 6 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52. The initial three-year 7 term provided for in this subdivision shall count in applying the two-term limit 8 provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52. 9 One registered voter of Henderson County shall be appointed by the Board of (3) 10 Commissioners of Henderson County for a term of three years, which shall 11 begin on July 1, 2020, and expire on June 30, 2023. Upon the expiration of 12 the three-year term, one registered voter of Henderson County shall be 13 appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Henderson County for a term of 14 four years as provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by 15 S.L. 2014-52. The initial three-year term provided for in this subdivision shall 16 count in applying the two-term limit provided for in Section 1.4(c) of S.L. 17 2012-121, as amended by S.L. 2014-52.

SECTION 3. Except as provided in Section 2 of this act, the provisions of Section 1.4 of S.L. 2012-121, as amended by Section 69.1 of S.L. 2012-194 and S.L. 2014-52, shall apply to the appointment of members appointed as provided in Section 2 of this act.

SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.

Page 2 DRH40597-LM-112A