GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

HOUSE BILL 1041 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives and President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 1.1. Melanie A. Neal of Guilford County is appointed to the 911 Board for a term expiring on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Michael Reitz.

SECTION 1.2. Todd B. Bennett of Cabarrus County is appointed to the North Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Mary Collier.

SECTION 1.3. Hilda A. Parlér of Franklin County is appointed to the Charter School Advisory Committee for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Lindalyn Kakadelis.

SECTION 1.4. Paul J. Cozza of New Hanover County is appointed to the Ferry Transportation Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Bradford T. Smith.

SECTION 1.5. The Honorable Darrell McCormick of Yadkin County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Funeral Service for a term expiring on December 30, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of the Honorable Michael Stone.

SECTION 1.6. Lorenzo "Larry" J. Mares, Jr., of Craven County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Locksmith Licensing for a term expiring on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Michael Todd Going, II.

SECTION 1.7. Jack H. McDonald of Dare County is appointed to the North Carolina Marine Industrial Park for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of the Honorable Richard T. Schulze.

SECTION 1.8. Kristopher T. Loretz of Union County is appointed to the State Board of Proprietary Schools for a term expiring on December 31, 2023, to fill the unexpired term of Scott Aaron.

SECTION 1.9. Zack L. Phillips of Madison County is appointed to the North Carolina Respiratory Care Board for a term expiring on August 31, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Michael D. Nay.

SECTION 1.10. Scott M.W. Shook of Pitt County is appointed to the East Carolina University Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill the unexpired term of Robert B. Moore, Jr.



PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. Effective July 1, 2020, Julie L. Hart of Henderson County is appointed to the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2024.

SECTION 2.2. The Honorable Ronnie Sutton of Robeson County is appointed to the University of North Carolina-Pembroke Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2021.

SECTION 2.3. Rebecca "Becky" R. Brown of Wake County is appointed to the Western Carolina University Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.4. J. Doug English of Cumberland County is appointed to the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Harvey H. Allen, Jr.

SECTION 2.5. Effective July 1, 2020, Wilton Russell "Rusty" Duke of Pitt County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.

SECTION 2.6. Effective July 1, 2020, Dr. Sarah L. Neal of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Boxing Commission Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.7. Theodore Hicks of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Capital Facilities Finance Agency Board of Directors for a term expiring on February 28, 2024.

SECTION 2.8. Effective July 1, 2020, Caroline H. Brown of Iredell County is appointed to the Alarm Systems Licensing Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2023.

SECTION 2.9. Effective July 1, 2020, Chief Daniel L. House of New Hanover County is appointed to the North Carolina Industrial Hemp Commission for a term to expire June 30, 2024.

SECTION 2.10. Effective July 1, 2020, James J. Cook of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.

PART III. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 3.1. Unless otherwise provided, appointments shall begin upon the effective date of this act.

SECTION 3.2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 2nd day of May, 2020.

s/ Philip E. Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore

Speaker of the House of Representatives