GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

S 3

SENATE BILL 308 Judiciary Committee Substitute Adopted 4/4/17 House Committee Substitute Favorable 1/10/18

Short Title: Additional Speaker Appointments. (Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

March 20, 2017

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND TO CORRECT A TERM IN THE 2017 APPOINTMENTS BILL.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Haywood Edwin White III of New Hanover County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina at Wilmington for a term expiring on June 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Christopher J. Leonard.

SECTION 2. Harvey "Keith" Purvis of Pitt County is appointed to the North Carolina Agriculture Finance Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Anthony L. Gordon.

SECTION 3. Heather S. VunCannon of Randolph County is appointed to the Charter School Advisory for a term expiring on June 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Anthony Helton.

SECTION 4. Frank A. Stewart of Gaston County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2018, to fill the unexpired term of Daniel L. Gurley.

SECTION 5. Susan D. Neeley of Gaston County is appointed to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine for a term expiring January 1, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Kevin Sowers.

SECTION 6. Section 2.2 of S.L. 2017-213 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.2.** Effective July 1, 2017, Bradford T. Smith of Brunswick County is appointed to the Ferry Transportation Authority Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2020. June 30, 2018."

SECTION 7. This act is effective when it becomes law.

