GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H.B. 950 May 16, 2018 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

H HOUSE BILL DRH30425-LMx-119

Short Title: Carthage Satellite Annexations. (Local)

Sponsors: Representatives McNeill and Boles (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF CARTHAGE.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation: standards.

.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

11

12

13

14 15

16 17

18 19

20

21

2223

24

25

26

2728

29

30

32

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10 .

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon.

31"

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.



D