GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

H HOUSE BILL 522*

Short Title:	Change the LOST Adjustment Factor.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Representative Lewis.	
	For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly we	eb site.
Referred to:	Finance	

March 30, 2017

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO CHANGE THE LOCAL OPTION SALES TAX (LOST) ADJUSTMENT
FACTOR TO ONE THAT VARIES BY ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT TIERS.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5

6

7

8 9

10

11

12 13 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 105-486(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) Adjustment. – The Secretary shall then adjust the amount allocated to each county under subsection (a) by multiplying the amount by the appropriate adjustment factor set out in the table below. The adjustment factor is based on the development tier designation of the county under G.S. 143B-437.08. The development tier designation of a county is effective for the fiscal year following the designation. If, after applying the adjustment factors, the resulting total of the amounts allocated is greater or lesser than the net proceeds to be distributed, the amount allocated to each county shall be proportionally adjusted to eliminate the excess or shortage.

14	CountyArea Development Tier	Adjustment Factor
15	Development tier one	<u>1.10</u>
16	Development tier two	<u>1.00</u>
17	Development tier three	<u>0.90</u>
18	Dare	1.49
19	Brunswick	1.17
20	Orange	1.15
21	Carteret and Durham	1.14
22	Avery	1.12
23	Moore	1.11
24	Transylvania	1.10
25	Chowan, McDowell, and Richmond	1.09
26	Pitt and New Hanover	1.07
27	Beaufort, Perquimans, Buncombe, and Watauga	1.06
28	Cabarrus, Jackson, and Surry	1.05
29	Alleghany, Bladen, Robeson, Washington, Craven, Henderson,	1.04
30	Onslow, and Vance	
31	Gaston, Granville, and Martin	1.03
32	Alamance, Burke, Caldwell, Chatham, Duplin, Edgecombe,	1.02
33	Haywood, Swain, and Wilkes	
34	Hertford, Union, Stokes, Yancey, Halifax, Rockingham, and	1.01
35	Cleveland	



	General Assembly Of North Carolina	Session 2017	
1	Alexander, Anson, Johnston, Northampton, Pasquotank, Person,	1.00	
2	Polk, and Yadkin		
3	Catawba, Harnett, Iredell, Pamlico, Pender, Randolph, Stanly, and	0.99	
4	Tyrrell		
5	Cherokee, Cumberland, Davidson, Graham, Hyde, Macon,	0.98	
6	Rutherford, Scotland, and Wilson		
7	Ashe, Bertie, Franklin, Hoke, Lincoln, Montgomery, and Warren	0.97	
8	Wayne, Clay, Madison, Sampson, Wake, Lee, and Forsyth	0.96	
9	Caswell, Gates, Mitchell, and Greene	0.95	
10	Currituck and Guilford	0.94	
11	Davie and Nash	0.93	
12	Rowan and Camden	0.92	
13	Jones	0.90	
14	Mecklenburg	0.89	
15	Lenoir	0.88	
16	Columbus	0.81"	
17	SECTION 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 2017, and applies to local option		
18	sales taxes collected on or after that date and distributed to counties and cities on or after		
19	September 1, 2017.		