GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

SESSION LAW 2018-139 HOUSE BILL 1111

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND TO MAKE FURTHER MODIFICATIONS TO APPOINTMENTS MADE IN THE 2018 APPOINTMENTS BILL.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 1.1. William R. Warner of Cumberland County is appointed to the Fayetteville State University Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. John G. McNeil.

SECTION 1.2. Bruce B. Friend of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Charter Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Joseph Maimone.

SECTION 1.3.(a) Representative John Torbett of Gaston County is appointed to the Virginia-North Carolina Interstate High-Speed Rail Compact for a term expiring on June 30, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Representative Nelson Dollar.

SECTION 1.3.(b) Representative John Fraley of Iredell County is appointed to the Virginia-North Carolina Interstate High-Speed Rail Compact for a term expiring on June 30, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Representative William Brawley.

SECTION 1.4. Earl W. Willis, Jr., of Chowan County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Roanoke Island Historical Association, Inc., for a term expiring on September 30, 2021.

SECTION 1.5. Matthew Peeler of Perquimans County is appointed to the North Carolina Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term expiring on December 31, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Dianne M. Layden.

SECTION 1.6. Representative Sarah Stevens of Surry County is appointed to the Permanency Innovation Initiative Oversight Committee for a term expiring on June 30, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Representative Jonathan Jordan.

PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. Ven Poole of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina State University Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Davis Nimocks.

SECTION 2.2. Rebecca Anderson of Forsyth County and Amanda Abbott Mixon of Wake County are appointed to the License to Give Trust Fund Commission for terms expiring on December 31, 2019.

SECTION 2.3. Lynn Taylor of Wilson County is appointed to the Domestic Violence Commission for a term expiring on August 31, 2019.

SECTION 2.4. Senator Deanna Ballard of Watauga County is appointed to the Education Commission of the States for a term expiring on December 31, 2019.



- **SECTION 2.5.** Effective January 1, 2019, Jennifer Richards of Catawba County is appointed to the North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board for a term expiring on December 31, 2021.
- **SECTION 2.6.** Dave Litman of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Interpreters and Transliterators Licensing Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Laura Carter.
- **SECTION 2.7.** Nell Rose of Rockingham County is appointed to the North Carolina Partnership for Children, Inc., Board of Directors for a term expiring on December 31, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Ronald Waters.
- **SECTION 2.8.** Steve Griffin of Durham County is appointed to the North Carolina Education and Workforce Innovation Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Sajjan Agarwal.
- **SECTION 2.9.** Lisa Grimes of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees for a term expiring on June 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Aaron McKethan.
- **SECTION 2.10.** Christine Mumma of Wake County is reappointed to the North Carolina Commission on Indigent Defense Services for a term expiring on August 31, 2020.
- **SECTION 2.11.** Raymond Hunt of Robeson County is appointed to the North Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2019, to fill the unexpired term of Dave Wickstrom.
- **SECTION 2.12.** Jeannette Butterworth of Henderson County is appointed to the North Carolina Charter Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2021.

PART III. CORRECTIONS

SECTION 3.1. Section 1.1 of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.1. Effective January 1, 2019, Michael Reitz of Chatham County, Cecil V. "Buddy" Martinette, Jr., of New Hanover County, and Sheriff J. D. Hartman of Davie County are appointed to the 911 Board for terms expiring on December 31, 2021. December 31, 2022."

SECTION 3.2. Section 1.25 of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.25. Effective January 1, 2018, January 1, 2019, Michael A. Tramber of Forsyth County, Raymond Riordan of Wake County, Tammy B. Owens of Wake Dr. David B. Lesser of Pitt County, and Joe M. Cabaleiro, R.Ph., of Wake County are appointed to the License to Give Trust Fund Commission for terms expiring on December 31, 2020."

SECTION 3.3. Section 1.31 of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.31.** Effective January 1, 2019, Johnny Hutchins of Cleveland County is appointed to the North Carolina Mining Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2022. December 31, 2022."

SECTION 3.4. Section 1.43 of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.43. Effective July 1, 2018, September 1, 2018, Sheriff James "Alan" Norman of Cleveland County to the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021. August 31, 2021."

SECTION 3.5. Section 1.21 of S.L. 2016-70 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.21.** Robin L. Ross of Caldwell County is appointed to the North Carolina Respiratory Care Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2019. November 30, 2019."

SECTION 3.6. Section 2.2 of S.L. 2017-75 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.2. Effective July 1, 2017, Leigh T. Brown of Cabarrus County, Michael P. Ayotte of Burke County, Paul Lawson Kennedy of Brunswick County, and County and Melvin Charles Mullen of Nash County are appointed to the North Carolina Housing Finance Agency Board of Directors for terms expiring on June 30, 2019. June 30, 2021."

SECTION 3.7. Section 2.45 of S.L. 2017-75 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.45.** Effective October 1, 2017, Kevin R. Howell of Transylvania County is appointed to the Outdoor Heritage Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2020. September 30, 2021."

SECTION 3.8. Section 2.56 of S.L. 2017-75 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.56. If House Bill 327 of the 2017 Regular Session or substantially similar legislation becomes law, then effective Effective January 1, 2018, Robyn E. Klose of Wake County is appointed to the State Board of Proprietary Schools for a term expiring on December 31, 2021. December 31, 2023."

SECTION 3.9. Section 1.3 of S.L. 2017-213 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.3.** William M. Nichols of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2020. June 30, 2021."

SECTION 3.10. Section 1.45 of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.45.** Effective January 1, 2018, January 1, 2019, Captain John C. Mozingo of Pitt County is appointed to the State Judicial Council for a term expiring on December 31, 2021. December 31, 2022."

SECTION 3.11. Section 2.20(b) of S.L. 2018-127 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.20.(b) Effective January 1, 2019, July 1, 2018, Ross Beamon of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Human Resources Commission for a term expiring on December 31, 2022. June 30, 2022."

PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 4. Unless otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes law. In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 4th day of December, 2018.

s/ Philip E. Berger President Pro Tempore of the Senate

s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives