GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

Η

HOUSE DRH10187-TH-5 (01/29)

Short Title:	Cabarrus County Commissioners Redistricting.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representatives Pittman and Ford (Primary Sponsors).	
Referred to:		

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO INCREASE THE SIZE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF
3	CABARRUS COUNTY AND TO PROVIDE FOR SIX ELECTORAL DISTRICTS AND
4	ONE AT-LARGE SEAT FOR THAT BOARD.
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
6	SECTION 1. Section 1 of Chapter 205 of the Session Laws of 1977 reads as
7	rewritten:
8	"Section 1. The(a) Effective the first Monday in December of 2018, the Board of County
9	Commissioners of Cabarrus County shall consist of five-seven members who shall serve for
10	staggered terms of four years as herein provided.years.
11	Beginning with the regular primary and general election for county officers to be held in
12	1978, there shall be nominated and elected five commissioners who shall be nominated and
13	elected by the voters of the entire county. In the 1978 general election, the three candidates
14	receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of four years, and the two
15	candidates receiving the next highest number of votes shall be elected for terms of two years.
16	Thereafter, as the terms of the members expire, their successors shall be elected for terms of
17	four years.
18	(b) In the 2016 general election, two members shall be nominated and elected by the
19	voters of the entire county and shall serve two-year terms. Commissioners elected in 2014 shall
20	serve the full four-year term to which that member was elected.
21	(c) Beginning with the 2018 election cycle, six members of the Board of County
22	Commissioners of Cabarrus County shall be elected from single-member districts as set out in
23	subsection (e) of this section and one member shall be elected from the county at large. The
24	qualified voters of each district shall elect the member of the Board for that district. Only voters
25	residing in that district may vote for the member from that district, and each candidate for a
26	district seat must reside in the district for which the election is sought. The qualified voters of
27	the entire county shall elect the at-large member. The at-large member must be a resident of
28	Cabarrus County.
29	(d) In the 2018 general election, members for Districts 1, 2, 3, and 4 shall be elected for
30	two-year terms. Beginning in 2020, and quadrennially thereafter, members for Districts 1, 2, 3,
31	and 4 shall be elected for four-year terms. Beginning in 2018, and quadrennially thereafter,
32	members from Districts 5 and 6 and the at-large member shall be elected for four-year terms.
33	(e) The six single-member districts are as follows:
34	District 1: Cabarrus County: VTD: 11-02, VTD: 12-01, VTD: 12-02, VTD: 12-03, VTD:
35	<u>12-04, VTD: 12-05, VTD: 12-06, VTD: 12-07, VTD: 12-10, VTD: 12-11.</u>



	General Assembly of North Carolina Session 2015
1	District 2: Cabarrus County: VTD: 02-01, VTD: 02-06, VTD: 02-08, VTD: 03-00, VTD:
2	<u>04-08, VTD: 04-09, VTD: 12-08.</u>
3	District 3: Cabarrus County: VTD: 02-02, VTD: 02-03, VTD: 02-05, VTD: 02-07, VTD:
4	<u>02-09.</u>
5	District 4: Cabarrus County: VTD: 01-02, VTD: 01-04, VTD: 01-06, VTD: 01-07, VTD:
6	<u>01-08, VTD: 01-09, VTD: 01-10, VTD: 12-09, VTD: 12-12.</u>
7	District 5: Cabarrus County: VTD: 05-00, VTD: 06-00, VTD: 07-00, VTD: 08-00, VTD:
8	<u>09-00, VTD: 10-00, VTD: 11-01.</u>
9	District 6: Cabarrus County: VTD: 04-01, VTD: 04-02, VTD: 04-03, VTD: 04-04, VTD:
0	<u>04-05, VTD: 04-06, VTD: 04-07, VTD: 04-10."</u>
1	SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.