## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

H.B. 911 Apr 11, 2013 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

H

## HOUSE DRH30416-MH-171 (03/26)

Short Title: Adjust Highway Equity Formula. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Blust.

Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ADJUST THE DISTRIBUTION FORMULA FOR FUNDS EXPENDED ON THE INTRASTATE SYSTEM AND TRANSPORTATION IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM.

5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 136-17.2A reads as rewritten:

## "§ 136-17.2A. Distribution formula for funds expended on Intrastate System and Transportation Improvement Program.

- (a) Funds expended for the Intrastate System projects listed in G.S. 136-179 and both State and federal-aid funds expended under the Transportation Improvement Program, other than federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149, funds expended on an urban loop project listed in G.S. 136-180, funds from the federal government for the Appalachian Development Highway System, and funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation authorities, transit authorities, or the Department, funds listed in subsection (a1) of this section, shall be distributed throughout the State in accordance with this section.
  - (1) Distribution Region A consists of the following counties: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Johnston, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, and Wilson.
  - (2) Distribution Region B consists of the following counties: Beaufort, Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, and Sampson.
  - (3) Distribution Region C consists of the following counties: Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Person, Robeson, Vance, Wake, and Warren.
  - (4) Distribution Region D consists of the following counties: Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Orange, Rockingham, Rowan, and Stokes.
  - (5) Distribution Region E consists of the following counties: Anson, Cabarrus, Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union.
  - (6) Distribution Region F consists of the following counties: Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yadkin.



1	(7)	Distribution Region G consists of the following counties: Buncombe, Burke,
2		Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison,
3		McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, and Yancey.
4	(a1) The	following are exempt from the distribution requirements of subsection (a) of
5	this section:	
6	<u>(1)</u>	Federal congestion mitigation and air quality improvement program funds
7	<del></del>	appropriated to the State by the United States pursuant to 23 U.S.C. §
8		104(b)(2) and 23 U.S.C. § 149.
9	<u>(2)</u>	Funds expended on an urban loop project designated and prioritized in
10		G.S. 136-180.
11	<u>(3)</u>	Funds from the federal government for the Appalachian Development
12		Highway System.
13	<u>(4)</u>	Funds received through competitive awards or discretionary grants through
14		federal appropriations either for local governments, transportation
15		authorities, transit authorities, or the Department.
16	<u>(5)</u>	Surface Transportation Program/Direct Attributable (STP/DA) federal funds.
17	(b) Until	ninety percent (90%) of the mileage of the Intrastate System projects listed in
18	G.S. 136-179 is	completed, the Secretary of Transportation shall, on or before October 1 of
19	each year, calcu	late the estimated amount of funds subject to this section that will be available
20	for the next seven program years beginning that October 1. The Secretary shall then calculate a	
21	tentative percen	tage share for each distribution region by multiplying the total estimated
22	amount by a fact	or that is based:
23	<del>(1)</del>	Twenty-five percent (25%) on the estimated number of miles to complete
24		the Intrastate System projects in that distribution region compared to the
25		estimated number of miles to complete the total Intrastate System;
26	<del>(2)</del>	Fifty percent (50%) on the estimated population of the distribution region
27		compared to the total estimated population of the State; and
28	<del>(3)</del>	Twenty-five percent (25%) on the fraction one-seventh, which provides an
29		equal share based on the number of distribution regions.
30	* *	n ninety percent (90%) of the mileage of the Intrastate System projects listed in
31	G.S. 136-179 is completed, the The Secretary of Transportation shall, on or before October 1 of	
32	each year, calculate the estimated amount of funds subject to this section that will be available	
33	for the next seven program years beginning that October 1. The Secretary shall then calculate a	
34	tentative percentage share for each distribution region by multiplying the total estimated	
35	amount by a factor that is based:	
36	(1)	Sixty-six percent (66%) on the estimated population of the distribution
37		region compared to the total estimated population of the State; and
38	(2)	Thirty-four percent (34%) on the fraction one-seventh, which provides an
39		equal share based on the number of distribution regions.
40	"	
41	SEC	<b>TION 2.</b> This act becomes effective July 1, 2013.