GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

H HOUSE RESOLUTION 578

| Sponsors: | Representative Szoka (Primary Sponsor). |
|--------------|---|
| | For a complete list of Sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly Web Site. |
| Referred to: | Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House. |

April 8, 2013

A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF STEDMAN, WHILE OBSERVING THE TOWN'S ONE HUNDREDTH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, the Town of Stedman, located in Cumberland County, was named for Charles M. Stedman, a member of the United States House of Representatives, Lieutenant Governor of North Carolina, and President of the North Carolina Railroad; and

Whereas, the Town was incorporated by the General Assembly on February 20, 1913; and

Whereas, the Town's first officers were Mayor John B. Bryant; Commissioners A.C. Bullard, J.E. Fussell, J.H. Bryant, O.L. McFayden, and A.G. Strickland; and Clerk and Treasurer M.A. Geddie; and

Whereas, currently, the Town has approximately 1,040 citizens; and

Whereas, the Town continues to prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of its concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, the 100th anniversary of the Town of Stedman is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

1 2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21

22

SECTION 1. The House of Representatives wishes to honor the founders of the Town of Stedman and extends its sincere congratulations and best wishes to the Town of Stedman upon the Town's centennial anniversary.

SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Mayor of the Town of Stedman.

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

