GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

H HOUSE BILL 42

Short Title:	New Judge/ADA Wake County.	(Public)
Sponsors: Representative Jackson (Primary Sponsor).		
	For a complete list of Sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly W	eb Site.
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.	

February 4, 2013

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE
FOR DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT 10 AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN
ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR PROSECUTORIAL
DISTRICT 10.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

6

7

8

9

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

10	District	Judges	County
11 12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	6	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin
30			Jones
31			Onslow
32	5	9	New Hanover
33			Pender
34	6A	3	Halifax
35	6B	3	Northampton



G	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2013	
			Bertie	
			Hertford	
	7	7	Nash	
			Edgecombe	
			Wilson	
	8	6	Wayne	
	-		Greene	
			Lenoir	
	9	4	Granville	
		·	(part of Vance	
			see subsection (b))	
			Franklin	
	9A	2	Person	
	<i>)</i> 11	2	Caswell	
	9B	2	Warren	
	ZD	2	(part of Vance	
	10	1020	see subsection (b))	
	10	19 <u>20</u>	Wake	
	11	11	Harnett	
			Johnston	
	10	10	Lee	
	12	10	Cumberland	
	13	6	Bladen	
			Brunswick	
		_	Columbus	
	14	7	Durham	
	15A	4	Alamance	
	15B	5	Orange	
		_	Chatham	
	16A	3	Scotland	
			Hoke	
	16B	5	Robeson	
	17A	3	Rockingham	
	17B	4	Stokes	
			Surry	
	18	14	Guilford	
	19A	4	Cabarrus	
	19B	7	Montgomery	
			Moore	
			Randolph	
	19C	5	Rowan	
	20A	4	Stanly	
			Anson	
			Richmond	
	20B	1	(part of Union	
			see subsection (b))	
	20C	2	(part of Union	
			see subsection (b))	
	20D	1	Union	
	21	10	Forsyth	
	22A	5	Alexander	
	<i>221</i> 1	5	Mexandel	

Page 2 H42 [Edition 1]

General Assembly of North Carolina		North Carolina	Session 201	
			Iredell	
	22B	6	Davidson	
			Davie	
	23	4	Alleghany	
			Ashe	
			Wilkes	
			Yadkin	
	24	4	Avery	
			Madison	
			Mitchell	
			Watauga	
			Yancey	
	25	9	Burke	
		•	Caldwell	
			Catawba	
	26	21	Mecklenburg	
	27A	7	Gaston	
	27B	5	Cleveland	
		-	Lincoln	
	28	7	Buncombe	
	29A	3	McDowell	
			Rutherford	
	29B	4	Henderson	
	_, _		Polk	
			Transylvania	
	30	6	Cherokee	
		•	Clay	
			Graham	
			Haywood	
			Jackson	
			Macon	
			Swain."	
	SECTION	2. The Governor shall appo	oint the additional district court judge fo	
المانية			s successor shall be elected in the 2014	

r District 10 authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2014 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2015.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of one hundred fifty-nine thousand three hundred ninety-four dollars (\$159,394) for the 2013-2014 fiscal year and the sum of one hundred fifty-nine thousand three hundred ninety-four dollars (\$159,394) for the 2014-2015 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judgeship authorized by this act.

SECTION 4. The Chief District Court Judge in District 10 should use the additional district court judge authorized by this act to address driving while impaired offenses in the District to the fullest extent possible.

SECTION 5. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

35

36

37

38

39

40

41

42

43

44

45

46 47

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

48	C		No. of Full-Time
49	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
50	District	Counties	Attorneys
51	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11

H42 [Edition 1] Page 3

G	eneral Assembly o	Session 2013	
1		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
2		Perquimans	
3	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
4		Tyrrell, Washington	
5	3A	Pitt	11
6	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	12
7	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	18
8		Sampson	
9	5	New Hanover, Pender	18
10	6A	Halifax	5
11	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	5
12		Northampton	
13	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18
14	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
15	9	Franklin, Granville,	10
16		Vance, Warren	
17	9A	Person, Caswell	6
18	10	Wake	<u>4142</u>
19	11A	Harnett, Lee	9
20	11B	Johnston	10
21	12	Cumberland	23
22	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	13
23	14	Durham	18
24	15A	Alamance	11
25	15B	Orange, Chatham	10
26	16A	Scotland, Hoke	7
27	16B	Robeson	12
28	17A	Rockingham	7
29	17B	Stokes, Surry	8
30	18	Guilford	32
31	19A	Cabarrus	9
32	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	9
33	19C	Rowan	8
34	19D	Moore	5
35	20A	Anson, Richmond,	11
36	200	Stanly	10
37	20B	Union	10
38	21	Forsyth	25
39	22A	Alexander, Iredell	11
40	22B	Davidson, Davie	11
41	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	8
42	2.4	Yadkin	7
43	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	7
44 45	25	Watauga, Yancey	10
45 46	25 26	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18
46 47	26	Mecklenburg	58
47	27A	Gaston	14
48	27B	Cleveland,	11
49 50	20	Lincoln	1 /
50 51	28	Buncombe McDowell Buthorford	14
51	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	7

Page 4 H42 [Edition 1]

	General Assembly of	North Carolina	Session 2013
1	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	8
2	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	10
3		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
1		Swain."	
5	SECTION	6. There is appropriated from the General	Fund to the Judicial
6	Department the sum of	of fifty-seven thousand thirty dollars (\$57,030) for	r the 2013-2014 fiscal
7	year and the sum of fi	fty-seven thousand thirty dollars (\$57,030) for the	2014-2015 fiscal year
3	to establish the addition	nal assistant district attorney authorized by this act.	,
)	SECTION	7. The District Attorney in District 10 shou	ld use the additional
)	assistant district attorn	ney authorized by this act to address driving while	e impaired offenses in
l	the District to the fulle	est extent possible.	
2	SECTION	8. This act becomes effective July 1, 2013.	

H42 [Edition 1] Page 5