## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S

## SENATE BILL 859

State and Local Government & Committee Substitute Adopted 6/5/12

Short Title: Pilot Mountain/Dobson Even-Year Elections.

(Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

## May 23, 2012 1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWN OF 3 AND PILOT MOUNTAIN THE TOWN OF DOBSON ARE HELD IN 4 EVEN-NUMBERED YEARS. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 6 SECTION 1. Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being 7 Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, as amended by Town Ordinance 217, adopted April 8 22, 2002, reads as rewritten: 9 "Sec. 3.3. Terms; Oualifications; Vacancies. 10 The Mayor shall and members of the Board of Commissioners shall serve for terms (a) 11 of four (4) years, beginning the day and hour of the organizational meeting following their 12 election, as established by ordinance in accordance with this Charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualify. qualify, provided further that (i) the Mayor 13 14 elected in 2011 shall serve a term of three years, but the Mayor's successors shall serve terms of four years; and (ii) the members of the board of commissioners elected in 2009 and 2011 shall 15 serve terms of three years, but the member's successors shall serve terms of four years." 16 SECTION 2. Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being 17 18 Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, is rewritten to read: 19 "Sec. 4.1. Regular Elections. Elections shall be held biennially on the Tuesday after the first 20 Monday in November, beginning in 2012. In the 2014 election and quadrennially thereafter, the 21 candidate for Mayor who receives the largest number of votes cast for Mayor shall be declared 22 elected for a term of four years. In the 2012 election and quadrennially thereafter, the two 23 candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast for Commissioner 24 shall be declared elected for terms of four years. In the 2014 election and quadrennially 25 thereafter, the two candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast 26 for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four years. Regular municipal elections 27 shall be held biennially in even-numbered years, but shall otherwise be conducted in accordance with the general law governing municipal elections, except that absentee ballots 28 29 shall be available on the same schedule as for county and State officers at that election." 30 **SECTION 3.** Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Dobson, being Chapter 232 of the Session Laws of 1975, as amended by Town Ordinance dated February 18, 2010, reads 31 32 as rewritten: 33 "Sec. 3.3. Terms; qualifications; vacancies.

(a) The members of the Board of Commissioners shall serve for terms of four years,
and the Mayor shall serve for a term of four years, beginning the day and hour of the
organizational meeting following their election, as established by ordinance in accordance with



	General Assembly Of North CarolinaSession 2011
1	this Charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualify.qualify,
2	provided further that (i) the Mayor elected in 2009 shall serve a term of five years, but the
3	Mayor's successors shall serve terms of four years; and (ii) the members of the board of
4	commissioners elected in 2009 and 2011 shall serve terms of five years, but the member's
5	successors shall serve terms of four years.
6	(b) No person shall be eligible to be a candidate or to be elected as Mayor or as a
7	member of the Board of Commissioners or to serve in such capacity, unless he is a resident and
8	a qualified voter of the Town.
9	(c) In the event a vacancy occurs in the office of Mayor or Commissioner, the Board
10	shall by majority vote appoint some qualified person to fill the same for the remainder of the
11	unexpired term."
12	<b>SECTION 4.</b> Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Dobson, being Chapter
13	232 of the Session Laws of 1975, reads as rewritten:
14	"Sec. 4.1. Regular Elections. Elections shall be held biennially on the Tuesday after the first
15	Monday in November, beginning in 2012.2014. In the 2012–2014 election and biennially
16	quadrennially thereafter, the candidate for Mayor who receives the largest number of votes cast
17	for Mayor shall be declared elected for a term of two-four years. In the 2012-2016 election and
18	quadrennially thereafter, the three candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest
19	numbers of votes cast for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four years. In the
20	2014 election and quadrennially thereafter, the two candidates for Commissioner who receive
21	the largest numbers of votes cast for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four
22	years. Regular municipal elections shall be held biennially in even-numbered years, but shall
23	otherwise be conducted in accordance with the general law governing municipal elections,
24 25	except that absentee ballots shall be available on the same schedule as for county and State
25 26	officers at that election."
26	<b>SECTION 5.</b> This act is effective when it becomes law.