GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

SESSION LAW 2012-42 HOUSE BILL 490

AN ACT TO NAME THE YADKIN RIVER BRIDGE AT THE DAVIDSON AND ROWAN COUNTY LINES THE "YADKIN RIVER VETERANS MEMORIAL BRIDGE."

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. The Department of Transportation shall name that portion of Interstate 85 known as the Yadkin River Bridge, over the Yadkin River and between Rowan and Davidson Counties, the Yadkin River Veterans Memorial Bridge.

SECTION 2. G.S. 136-17.2A(i) reads as rewritten:

"(i) All funds used in repayment of "GARVEE" bonds issued pursuant to G.S. 136-18(12b), except for funds used in repayment of "GARVEE" bonds related to Phase I of the Yadkin River <u>Veterans Memorial</u> Bridge project, shall be subject to the provisions of this section."

SECTION 3. G.S. 136-89.183C reads as rewritten:

"§ 136-89.183C. Accelerated Yadkin River Bridge Replacement Project.

- (a) Contract for Accelerated Construction of the Yadkin River Veterans Memorial Bridge Replacement Bridge Project. The Authority shall study, plan, develop, undertake preliminary design work, and analyze and list all necessary permits, in preparation for construction of a replacement bridge and approaches for the Yadkin River Veterans Memorial Bridge over the Yadkin River and between Rowan and Davidson Counties, in order to provide accelerated, efficient, and cost-effective completion of the project.
- (b) Replacement Bridge; Termini. The bridge constructed pursuant to this section shall be a replacement bridge, with north and south termini located in general proximity to the termini of the existing Yadkin River <u>Veterans Memorial Bridge</u>."

SECTION 4. G.S. 136-188(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b) The initial project funded from the Mobility Fund shall be the widening and improvement of Interstate 85 north of the Yadkin River <u>Veterans Memorial Bridge.</u>"

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 14th day of June, 2012.

- s/ Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate
- s/ Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives
- s/ Beverly E. Perdue Governor

Approved 11:43 a.m. this 20th day of June, 2012

