## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

## HOUSE BILL 414 RATIFIED BILL

## AN ACT TO MODIFY THE RUTHERFORD COUNTY OCCUPANCY TAX.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Sections 5 and 6 of Chapter 577 of the 1991 Session Laws, as amended by S.L. 2007-527, are rewritten and recodified as Sections 2 and 3 of this act. This act does not affect the rights or liabilities of the county, a taxpayer, or another person arising under the law rewritten and recodified by this act before the effective date of this act, nor does it affect the right to any refund or credit of a tax that accrued under the law rewritten and recodified by this act.

**SECTION 2.** Occupancy tax. – (a) Authorization and Scope. – The Board of Commissioners of Rutherford County may levy a room occupancy tax of up to six percent (6%) of the gross receipts derived from the rental of any room, lodging, or accommodation furnished by a hotel, motel, inn, tourist camp, or similar place within the county that is subject to sales tax imposed by the State under G.S. 105-164.4(a)(3). This tax is in addition to any State or local sales tax. This tax does not apply to accommodations furnished by nonprofit charitable, educational, or religious organizations when furnished in furtherance of their nonprofit purpose.

**SECTION 2.(b)** Administration. – A tax levied under this section shall be levied, administered, collected, and repealed as provided in G.S. 153A-155. The penalties provided in G.S. 153A-155 apply to a tax levied under this section.

**SECTION 2.(c)** Definitions. – The following definitions apply in this act:

- (1) Net proceeds. Gross proceeds less the cost to the county of administering and collecting the tax, as determined by the finance officer, not to exceed three percent (3%) of the first five hundred thousand dollars (\$500,000) of gross proceeds collected each year and one percent (1%) of the remaining gross proceeds collected each year.
- (2) Promote travel and tourism. To advertise or market an area or activity, publish and distribute pamphlets and other materials, conduct market research, or engage in similar promotional activities that attract tourists or business travelers to the area. The term includes administrative expenses incurred in engaging in the listed activities.
- (3) Tourism-related expenditures. Expenditures that, in the judgment of the Rutherford County Tourism Development Authority, are designed to increase the use of lodging facilities, meeting facilities, or convention facilities in the county or to attract tourists or business travelers to the county. The term includes tourism-related capital expenditures.

**SECTION 2.(d)** Distribution and Use of Tax Revenue. – Rutherford County shall, on a quarterly basis, remit to the Rutherford County Tourism Development Authority the net proceeds of the occupancy tax. Alternatively, Rutherford County may, at the request and on behalf of the Authority, establish a separate fund to account for the management of all receipts and disbursements of the Authority. In addition to the management of this separate fund, the county may also provide services, including, but not limited to, finance, human resources, legal, and information technology. Service fees will be assessed by the county for the indirect costs related to these services. The Authority shall use at least two-thirds of the funds remitted to it under this subsection to promote travel and tourism in Rutherford County and shall use the remainder for tourism-related expenditures.

**SECTION 3.** Tourism Development Authority. – (a) Appointment and Membership. – When the Board of Commissioners adopts a resolution levying a room



occupancy tax under this act, it shall also adopt a resolution creating the Rutherford County Tourism Development Authority, which shall be a public authority under the Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act. The resolution adopted by the Board of Commissioners shall provide for the membership of the Authority, including the members' terms of office, and for the filling of vacancies on the Authority. At least one-third of the members shall be individuals who are affiliated with businesses that collect the tax in the county, and at least one-half of the members shall be individuals who are currently active in the promotion of travel and tourism in the county. The Board of Commissioners shall designate one member of the Authority as chair and shall determine the compensation, if any, to be paid to members of the Authority.

The Authority shall meet at the call of the chair and shall adopt rules of procedure to govern its meetings. The Finance Officer for Rutherford County shall be the ex officio finance officer of the Authority.

**SECTION 3.(b)** Duties. – The Authority shall expend the net proceeds of the tax levied under this act for the purposes provided in Section 2 of this act. The Authority shall promote travel, tourism, and conventions in the county, sponsor tourist-related events and activities in the county, and finance tourist-related capital projects in the county.

**SECTION 3.(c)** Reports. – The Authority shall report quarterly and at the close of the fiscal year to the Rutherford County Board of Commissioners on its receipts and expenditures for the preceding quarter and for the year in such detail as the Board of Commissioners may require.

**SECTION 4.** Administrative provisions. – G.S. 153A-155(g) reads as rewritten:

"(g) Applicability. – Subsection (c) of this section applies to all counties and county districts that levy an occupancy tax. To the extent subsection (c) conflicts with any provision of a local act, subsection (c) supersedes that provision. The remainder of this section applies only to Alleghany, Anson, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Halifax, Haywood, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, New Hanover, New Hanover County District U, Northampton, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Rockingham, Rowan, <u>Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Washington, and Wilson Counties, to Surry County District Y, and to the Township of Averasboro in Harnett County and the Ocracoke Township Taxing District."</u>

**SECTION 5.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 9<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2011.

Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

Thom Tillis Speaker of the House of Representatives