GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

H.R. 1232 Jun 27, 2012 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

Η

1 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13 14

15

16 17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30 31

32

33

3435

36

HOUSE RESOLUTION DRHR80411-LG-211 (06/26)

Sponsors: Representatives Bradley and Bryant (Primary Sponsors).

Referred to:

A HOUSE RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF LOUISBURG COLLEGE ON THE OCCASION OF THE COLLEGE'S TWO HUNDRED TWENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY.

Whereas, Louisburg College is located in the Town of Louisburg in Franklin County; and

Whereas, Louisburg College is the oldest two-year residential college and the oldest two-year Methodist college in the nation; and

Whereas, Louisburg College is the only two-year residential college in North Carolina; and

Whereas, Louisburg College developed from three earlier institutions, the Franklin Male Academy, the Louisburg Female Academy, and Louisburg Female College; and

Whereas, the Franklin Male Academy was chartered on January 6, 1787, as a result of legislation introduced by Senator Henry Hill of Franklin County; and

Whereas, the Franklin Male Academy opened on January 1, 1805, and was later led by principals that included Matthew Dickinson, John B. Bobbitt, Charles Applewhite Hill, and Matthew S. Davis; and

Whereas, the Louisburg Female Academy was chartered by the General Assembly on December 27, 1814; and

Whereas, several years later, the General Assembly authorized the transfer of the property by the trustees of the Louisburg Female Academy to the directors of the Louisburg Female College Company in 1855; and

Whereas, Louisburg College opened under the leadership of Professor James P. Nelson in August of 1857; and

Whereas, some of the early presidents of Louisburg College included Dr. Turner Myrick Jones, S.D. Bagley, Matthew S. Davis, and Mary Davis Allen; and

Whereas, in 1891 Washington Duke of Durham, North Carolina, bought the College for \$5,450, and in 1907 his son, Benjamin N. Duke, donated the College to the North Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church; and

Whereas, Louisburg College has continued to prosper and educate students during its 225 years, attracting students from 42 states and 15 countries; and

Whereas, today Louisburg College has over 700 students and nearly 14,000 alumni; and

Whereas, over 90 percent of the graduates of Louisburg College continue their education at four-year institutions; and

Whereas, Louisburg College has produced nationally recognized sports teams, especially in baseball and basketball; and



D

1 2 3

Whereas, in four different centuries, students from Louisburg College have excelled in many areas of life, including business, government, politics, education, sports, and the military; Now, therefore,

4

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives:

5 6

7

SECTION 1. The House of Representatives honors those who have played a role in the success of Louisburg College and joins the administration, faculty, students, alumni, Town of Louisburg, and the County of Franklin in celebrating the 225th anniversary of Louisburg College.

8 9

SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the President of Louisburg College.

10 11

SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

Page 2 H1232 [Filed]