GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1456

	Sponsors: Senators Blue, Atwater, McKissick; and Allran.
	Referred to: Rules and Operations of the Senate.
	June 22, 2010
1 2	A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE DUKE BLUE DEVILS ON WINNING THE 2010 NATIONAL BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP.
2 3	Whereas, on April 5, 2010, the Duke University men's basketball team won the
4	2010 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Championship by defeating
5	Butler University by a score of 61-59; and
6	Whereas, this championship gives Duke University its fourth Division I NCAA title
7	for the men's basketball program, adding to the championships won in 1991, 1992, and 2001;
8	and
9	Whereas, the Blue Devils have achieved an outstanding record during their NCAA
10	tournament history, which includes being selected 11 times as a No. 1 seed and appearing in 34
11	tournaments with 10 championship game appearances, 15 Final Four appearances, 18 Elite
12	Eight appearances, and 25 Sweet 16 appearances; and
13	Whereas, the Blue Devils won the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC)
14	tournament championship, increasing the program's record to 18 ACC tournament titles, the
15	most titles of any ACC member; and
16	Whereas, the Blue Devils were the ACC regular season cochampions, achieving a
17	conference record of 13-3; and
18 10	Whereas, the Blue Devils triumphed on their home court this season by going
19 20	undefeated; and Whereas, the Blue Devils finished the 2009-2010 season with a record of 35-5 and
20	were ranked No. 1 by the USA Today/ESPN Top 25 men's basketball coaches' poll; and
22	Whereas, much of the Blue Devils' success can be attributed to the leadership of
23	head coach, Mike Krzyzewski, a Hall of Fame coach, who during his 30 seasons at Duke has
24	led his teams to a record of 795-220; and
25	Whereas, Coach Krzyzewski maintains the record for the most number of NCAA
26	tournament wins, capturing his 77 th NCAA win during the 2010 tournament, and with four
27	championship titles, ties Adolph Rupp for the second most championships in NCAA history;
28	and
29	Whereas, many individual team members were recognized for their efforts during
30	the year and throughout their college careers, including Kyle Singler, who was named the Final
31	Four Most Outstanding Player and who was selected to the All-Tournament team along with
32	teammates Nolan Smith and Jon Scheyer; and
33	Whereas, each year Duke University is recognized as one the nation's best academic
34 25	institutions and its basketball program continues to have one of the highest graduation rates for
35	its athletes; and



1

General Assembly of North Carolina

Whereas, these accomplishments reflect favorably on the basketball tradition that 1 2 began in 1906 when Duke alumnus Wilbur Wade "Cap" Card established the sport of 3 basketball at Duke University (then Trinity College); and 4 Whereas, these extraordinary accomplishments bring great honor and distinction to 5 the State of North Carolina and deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore, 6 Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring: 7 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly expresses the appreciation and admiration of 8 the people of North Carolina to Duke University's men's basketball team for winning the 2010 9 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Championship. 10 SECTION 2. The General Assembly especially recognizes the achievements of 11 team members Seth Curry, Jordan Davidson, Andre Dawkins, Steve Johnson, Ryan Kelly, 12 Casey Peters, Mason Plumlee, Miles Plumlee, Jon Scheyer, Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith, Lance 13 Thomas, Todd Zafirovski, and Brian Zoubek; Head Coach Mike Krzyzewski; Associate Head 14 Coaches Chris Collins and Steve Wojciechowski; Assistant Coach Nate James; Director of 15 Basketball Operations Chris Spatola; and Athletic Trainer Chris Carrawell. 16 **SECTION 3.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Wilbur Wade "Cap" 17 Card for his contributions to the basketball program at Duke University. 18 SECTION 4. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this 19 resolution to Duke University President Richard H. Brodhead, Vice President and Director of 20 Athletics Kevin White, and all of the individuals honored in this resolution.

21 **SECTION 5.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.