# **GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009**

S

1

#### **SENATE BILL 1408**

Short Title:	Divide Superior Court District 13B.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Soles.	
Referred to:	Judiciary I.	

## May 26, 2010

### A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

#### 2 AN ACT TO DIVIDE SUPERIOR COURT DISTRICT 13B INTO DISTRICTS 13B AND 3 13C.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 7A-41(a) reads as rewritten:

The counties of the State are organized into judicial divisions and superior court 6 "(a) 7 districts, and each superior court district has the counties, and the number of regular resident 8 superior court judges set forth in the following table, and for districts of less than a whole 9 county, as set out in subsection (b) of this section: 10 C.

	Superior		
			No. of Resident
Division	District	Counties	Judges
First	1		2
		,	
		-	
First	2		1
		Tyrrell, Washington	
First	3A	Pitt	2
Second	3B	Carteret, Craven,	3
		Pamlico	
Second	4A	Duplin, Jones,	1
		Sampson	
Second	4B	Onslow	1
Second	5A	(part of New Hanover,	1
		part of Pender	
		see subsection (b))	
	5B	(part of New Hanover,	1
		part of Pender	
		see subsection (b))	
	5C	(part of New Hanover,	1
		see subsection (b))	
First	6A	Halifax	1
	Second Second	Judicial DivisionCourt DistrictFirst1First2First3A 3BSecond4ASecond4B 	Judicial DivisionCourt DistrictCountiesFirst1Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Pasquotank, PerquimansFirst2Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell, WashingtonFirst3APittSecond3BCarteret, Craven, PamlicoSecond4ADuplin, Jones, SampsonSecond4BOnslowSecond5A(part of New Hanover, part of Pender see subsection (b))5B(part of New Hanover, part of Pender see subsection (b))5C(part of New Hanover, see subsection (b))First6AHalifax



1

General Assembly of North Carolina			Session 2009
First	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	1
		Northampton	
First	7A	Nash	1
First	7B	(part of Wilson,	1
		part of Edgecombe,	
		see subsection (b))	
First	7C	(part of Wilson,	1
		part of Edgecombe,	
		see subsection (b))	
Second	8A	Lenoir and Greene	1
Second	8B	Wayne	1
Third	9	Franklin, Granville,	2
	-	Vance, Warren	
Third	9A	Person, Caswell	1
Third	10A	(part of Wake,	2
11110	1011	see subsection (b))	-
Third	10B	(part of Wake,	2
	102	see subsection (b))	-
Third	10C	(part of Wake,	1
Third	100	see subsection (b))	1
Third	10D	(part of Wake,	1
THIL	10D	see subsection (b))	Ĩ
Fourth	11A	Harnett,	1
1 Our ui	1174	Lee	1
Fourth	11 <b>B</b>	Johnston	1
Fourth	11D 12A	(part of Cumberland,	1
Tourm	12/1	see subsection (b))	1
Fourth	12B	(part of Cumberland,	1
Tourm	120	see subsection (b))	1
Fourth	12C	(part of Cumberland,	2
Tourm	120	see subsection (b))	2
Fourth	13A	Bladen, Columbus	1
Fourth	13R 13B	Brunswick	1
rourui	150	(part of Brunswick,	1
		see subsection (b))	
Fourth	<u>13C</u>	(part of Brunswick,	1
rourun	<u>15C</u>	see subsection (b))	<u>1</u>
Third	14A	(part of Durham,	1
Timu	14A	see subsection (b))	1
Third	1 <i>4</i> D		3
Third	14B	(part of Durham,	5
Third	15 \	see subsection (b))	2
Third	15A 15D	Alamance	2
Third	15B	Orange, Chatham	2
Fourth	16A	Scotland, Hoke	1
Fourth	16B	Robeson	2
Fifth	17A	Rockingham	2
Fifth	17B	Stokes, Surry	2
Fifth	18A	(part of Guilford,	1
<b>D'</b> C'	105	see subsection (b))	
Fifth	18B	(part of Guilford, see subsection (b))	1

	General	Assembly of North	Carolina	Session 2009
1	Fifth	18C	(part of Guilford,	1
2			see subsection (b))	
3	Fifth	18D	(part of Guilford,	1
4			see subsection (b))	
5	Fifth	18E	(part of Guilford,	1
6			see subsection (b))	
7	Sixth	19A	Cabarrus	1
8	Fifth	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	1
9	Sixth	19C	Rowan	1
10	Fifth	19D	Moore	1
11	Sixth	20A	Anson, Richmond,	2
12			Stanley	
13	Sixth	20B	Union	2
14	Fifth	21A	(part of Forsyth,	1
15			see subsection (b))	
16	Fifth	21B	(part of Forsyth,	1
17			see subsection (b))	
18	Fifth	21C	(part of Forsyth,	1
19			see subsection (b))	
20	Fifth	21D	(part of Forsyth,	1
21			see subsection (b))	
22	Sixth	22A	Alexander, Iredell	2
23	Sixth	22B	Davidson, Davie	2
24	Fifth	23	Alleghany, Ashe,	1
25			Wilkes, Yadkin	
26	Eighth	24	Avery, Madison,	2
27	8		Mitchell,	_
28			Watauga, Yancey	
29	Seventh	25A	Burke, Caldwell	2
30	Seventh	25B	Catawba	2
31	Seventh	26A	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
32			see subsection (b))	_
33	Seventh	26B	(part of Mecklenburg,	3
34	~~~~	-02	see subsection (b))	C
35	Seventh	26C	(part of Mecklenburg,	2
36	be ventili	200	see subsection (b))	-
37	Seventh	27A	Gaston	2
38	Seventh	27B	Cleveland, Lincoln	2
39	Eighth	28	Buncombe	$\frac{2}{2}$
40	Eighth	29A	McDowell,	1
41	Lighti	2711	Rutherford	1
42	Eighth	29B	Henderson, Polk,	1
43	Lighti	2)0	Transylvania	1
44	Eighth	30A	Cherokee, Clay,	1
45	Lighti	5011	Graham, Macon,	1
46			Swain	
40 47	Eighth	30B	Haywood, Jackson	1."
48	Lighti		S. 7A-41(b) is amended by adding two new	
48 49			Court District 13B consists of the Brunswi	
49 50		· · · •	odburn, Belville, Southport #1, Southport	• •
50		Letanu, W	oodourn, Dervine, Soumport #1, Soumport	$\pi 2$ , Oak Island #1, Oak

	General Assembly of North CarolinaSession 2009
1	Island #2, Oak Island #3, Mosquito, Bolivia, Secession #1, and Boiling
2	Springs Lakes. It has one judge.
3	"(30) Superior Court District 13C consists of the Brunswick County precincts of
4	Hood Creek, Town Creek, Supply, Secession #2, Shallotte, Frying Pan,
5	Grissettown, Shingletree #1, Shingletree #2, Waccamaw, and Longwood. It
6	has one judge."
7	SECTION 3.(a) The superior court judgeship established by Section 1 of this act
8	for District 13B shall be filled by the superior court judge from current District 13B who
9	resides in that portion of Brunswick County established as the new District 13B under
10	G.S. 7A-41(b) as amended by Section 2 of this act. That judge's successor shall be elected in
11	the 2018 general election.
12	<b>SECTION 3.(b)</b> The superior court judgeship established by Section 1 of this act
13	for District 13C shall be filled by appointment of the Governor to serve a term expiring
14	December 31, 2012. That judge's successor shall be elected in the 2012 general election.
15	SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
16	Department the sum of one hundred twenty-four thousand four hundred twenty-one dollars
17	(\$124,421) for the 2010-2011 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.
18	<b>SECTION 5.</b> This act becomes effective January 15, 2011.