GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S

1

SENATE DRS55574-LL-292A (05/12)

Short Title:	Divide Prosecutorial District 13.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Soles.	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO DIVIDE PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICT 13 INTO 3 DISTRICTS 13A AND 13B.

4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 5

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district 6 7 has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the 8 following table: 0

0	tonowing table.		
9			No. of Full-Time
10	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
11	District	Counties	Attorneys
12	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
13		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
14		Perquimans	
15	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
16		Tyrrell, Washington	
17	3A	Pitt	11
18	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	12
19	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	18
20		Sampson	
21	5	New Hanover, Pender	18
22	6A	Halifax	5
23	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	6
24		Northampton	
25	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19
26	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
27	9	Franklin, Granville,	12
28		Vance, Warren	
29	9A	Person, Caswell	6
30	10	Wake	42
31	11A	Harnett, Lee	9
32	11 B	Johnston	10
33	12	Cumberland	23
34	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	13
35	<u>13A</u>	Bladen, Columbus	<u>8</u>



D

	General Assembly of	Session 2009	
1	<u>13B</u>	Brunswick	<u>6</u>
2	14	Durham	18
3	15A	Alamance	11
4	15B	Orange, Chatham	10
5	16A	Scotland, Hoke	7
6	16B	Robeson	13
7	17A	Rockingham	7
8	17B	Stokes, Surry	8
9	18	Guilford	32
0	19A	Cabarrus	9
1	19 B	Montgomery, Randolph	10
2	19C	Rowan	8
3	19D	Moore	5
4	20A	Anson, Richmond,	12
5		Stanly	
6	20B	Union	10
7	21	Forsyth	25
8	22A	Alexander, Iredell	11
9	22B	Davidson, Davie	11
0	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	8
1		Yadkin	
2	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	7
3		Watauga, Yancey	
4	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	19
5	26	Mecklenburg	58
6	27A	Gaston	15
7	27B	Cleveland,	11
8		Lincoln	
9	28	Buncombe	14
0	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	7
1	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	8
2	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	11
3		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
4		Swain."	
5	SECTION	12. The district attorney position established for	District 13A by Section
6		Filled by the district attorney elected to serve Dist	

SECTION 2. The district attorney position established for District 13A by Section 1 of this act shall be filled by the district attorney elected to serve District 13 in the November 2010 election, if that district attorney resides in Bladen or Columbus County. If the district attorney elected to serve District 13 in the November 2010 election does not reside in Bladen or Columbus County, the district attorney position established for District 13A shall be filled by appointment of the Governor for the remainder of the term expiring January 1, 2012. The Governor is encouraged to appoint a person who is not a member of the same political party as that of the district attorney elected to serve District 13 in the November 2010 election.

43 **SECTION 3.** The district attorney position established for District 13B by Section 44 1 of this act shall be filled by the district attorney elected to serve District 13 in the November 45 2010 election, if that district attorney resides in Brunswick County. If the district attorney 46 elected to serve District 13 in the November 2010 election does not reside in Brunswick 47 County, the district attorney position established for District 13B shall be filled by appointment 48 of the Governor for the remainder of the term expiring January 1, 2012. The Governor is 49 encouraged to appoint a person who is not a member of the same political party as that of the 50 district attorney elected to serve District 13 in the November 2010 election.

General Assembly of North Carolina

1 **SECTION 4.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial 2 Department the sum of two hundred forty-eight thousand one hundred sixty-four dollars 3 (\$248,164) for the 2010-2011 fiscal year to implement the provisions of this act.

4 **SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective January 15, 2011, or the date of 5 preclearance under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, whichever is later.