## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S SENATE BILL 1264\*

Short Title:	Cherokee School Board Terms.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Snow.	
Referred to:	Education/Higher Education.	

May 20, 2010

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO CHANGE THE TERM OF OFFICE FOR MEMBERS OF THE CHEROKEE

COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION ELECTED IN 2010 AND THEREAFTER FROM SIX YEARS TO FOUR YEARS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Section 7 of Chapter 502 of the 1975 Session Laws reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 7. All members of the Cherokee County Board of Education elected under the provisions of this act shall serve for terms of six four years each and until their successors are elected and qualified. As the term of each member expires, his successor shall be elected for a term of six four years."

**SECTION 2.** Sections 4 through 6 of Chapter 502 of the 1975 Session Laws read as rewritten:

- "Sec. 4. In the year of 1976, there shall be elected, 2012 and quadrennially thereafter, as hereinafter provided, two members of the county board of education from District No. 1 and one member from District No. 2, all of whom shall be residents of the district which they are elected to represent.
- "Sec. 5. In the year of 1978, 2014 and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected, as hereinafter provided, one member of the county board of education from District No. 2, and one member from the county at large. The member from District No. 2 shall be a resident of the district which he is elected to represent. The member at large shall not be required to reside in or represent any one particular district.
- "Sec. 6. In the year of 1980, 2010 and quadrennially thereafter, there shall be elected, as hereinafter provided, two members of the county board of education from District No. 3, which members shall be residents of the district which they are elected to represent."

**SECTION 3.** This act is effective upon certification of the Cherokee County Board of Education elected in 2010 and does not affect the term of office of members elected in 2004, 2006, or 2008.

