## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009 RATIFIED BILL

## RESOLUTION 2009-24 SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION 1104

A JOINT RESOLUTION HONORING THE TWO HUNDRED FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF HALIFAX COUNTY.

Whereas, in 1758 the Colonial Assembly passed an act effective January 1, 1759, dividing Edgecombe County into Edgecombe and Halifax Counties; and

Whereas, Halifax County was named for George Montagu, second Earl of Halifax, who served as president of the Board of Trade and was successful in extending commerce in North America; and

Whereas, Joseph Montford served as the first Clerk of Court of Halifax County; and Whereas, Halifax County served as an important colonial government and commercial center; and

Whereas, on April 12, 1776, the Fourth Provincial Congress met in Halifax, the County Seat of Halifax County, and unanimously adopted the "Halifax Resolves," the first official action taken by a colony recommending independence from Great Britain; and

Whereas, the legislature continued to meet in Halifax between 1779 and 1781; and

Whereas, the citizens of Halifax County have made significant contributions to the social, cultural, political, and economic prosperity of the State of North Carolina; and

Whereas, Halifax County has continued to grow and prosper through the continued dedication, insight, and planning of the County's concerned leaders and citizens; and

Whereas, plans have been made to celebrate the County's 250<sup>th</sup> historic anniversary on July 4, 2009, and during other times throughout the year; and

Whereas, this occasion is worthy of celebration and should be enjoyed and supported by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring:

**SECTION 1.** The General Assembly honors the founders of Halifax County and congratulates the County on its 250<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

**SECTION 2.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the Honorable Gene W. Minton, Chair of the Halifax County Board of Commissioners.

**SECTION 3.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 7<sup>th</sup> day of July, 2009.

Walter H. Dalton
President of the Senate

Joe Hackney

Speaker of the House of Representatives

