GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

HOUSE BILL 688 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REMOVE THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF JAMESTOWN.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

. .

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 22nd day of July,

2009.

Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

Joe Hackney

Joe Hackney
Speaker of the House of Representatives

