GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

H

HOUSE BILL 336

	Short Title:	Richlands/Satellite Annexations. (Public)
	Sponsors:	Representative Tucker.
	Referred to:	Local Government I, if favorable, Finance.
March 2, 2009		
1		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT CONCERNING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN	
3	OF RICHLANDS.	
4	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
5		SECTION 1. Section 2 of S.L. 2008-30 is repealed.
6		SECTION 2. G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:
7		A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
8	standards:	
9		
10	(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the
11		area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent
12		(10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
13 14		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord,
14 15		Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton,
15 16		Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
10		Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier,
18		Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton,
19		Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks,
20		Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland,
21		Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis,
22		Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan,
23		Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville,
24		Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville,
25		Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City,
26		Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,
27		Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."
28	S	SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law.



1