GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

HOUSE BILL 164 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO EXPAND THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF THE TOWN OF GODWIN FROM THREE TO FOUR MEMBERS AND ALLOW THE MAYOR TO VOTE ON ALL ISSUES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding Section 3 of the Charter of the Town of Godwin, being Chapter 397 of the Private Laws of 1905, as rewritten by Chapter 243 of the 1947 Session Laws, the Board of Commissioners of the Town of Godwin consists of four members elected for two-year terms in 2009 and biennially thereafter. This section becomes effective with the organizational meeting after the 2009 regular municipal election, and four members shall be elected at that election.

SECTION 2. The Mayor of the Town of Godwin shall be elected in 2009 and biennially thereafter for a two-year term. Beginning with the organizational meeting after the 2009 regular municipal election, the Mayor may vote on all issues before the town board of commissioners.

SECTION 3. Election of the Mayor and Board of Commissioners of the Town of Godwin shall be determined on the plurality basis in accordance with G.S. 163-292.

SECTION 4. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 12th day of March, 2009.

Walter H. Dalton President of the Senate

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives

