GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

Η

1

HOUSE DRH70281-LA-10 (03/23)

Short Title:	Delay Alamance County Revaluation.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative Allred.	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2	AN ACT TO REQUIRE ALAMANCE COUNTY TO USE THE APPRAISED VALUE OF
3	REAL PROPERTY DETERMINED IN THE GENERAL REAPPRAISAL CONDUCTED
4	IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE MOST RECENTLY CONDUCTED GENERAL
5	REAPPRAISAL.
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	SECTION 1. This act applies only to Alamance County.
8	SECTION 2. G.S. 105-286 reads as rewritten:
9	"§ 105-286. (Effective until July 1, 2009) Time for general reappraisal of real property.
10	(a) Octennial Plan Unless the date shall be advanced changed as provided in
11	subdivision $(a)(2),(a)(2)$ or $(a)(3)$ below, each county of the State, as of January 1 of the year
12	prescribed in the schedule set out in subdivision (a)(1), below, and every eighth year thereafter,
13	shall reappraise all real property in accordance with the provisions of G.S. 105-283 and
14	105-317.
15	(1) Schedule of Initial Reappraisals. –
16	Division One – 1972: Avery, Camden, Cherokee, Cleveland,
17	Cumberland, Guilford, Harnett, Haywood, Lee, Montgomery, Northampton,
18	and Robeson.
19	Division Two – 1973: Caldwell, Carteret, Columbus, Currituck,
20	Davidson, Gaston, Greene, Hyde, Lenoir, Madison, Orange, Pamlico, Pitt,
21	Richmond, Swain, Transylvania, and Washington.
22	Division Three – 1974: Ashe, Buncombe, Chowan, Franklin, Henderson,
23	Hoke, Jones, Pasquotank, Rowan, and Stokes.
24	Division Four – 1975: Alleghany, Bladen, Brunswick, Cabarrus,
25	Catawba, Dare, Halifax, Macon, New Hanover, Surry, Tyrrell, and Yadkin.
26	Division Five – 1976: Bertie, Caswell, Forsyth, Iredell, Jackson, Lincoln,
27	Onslow, Person, Perquimans, Rutherford, Union, Vance, Wake, Wilson, and
28	Yancey.
29	Division Six – 1977: Alamance, Durham, Edgecombe, Gates, Martin,
30	Mitchell, Nash, Polk, Randolph, Stanly, Warren, and Wilkes.
31	Division Seven – 1978: Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, Clay, Craven,
32	Davie, Duplin, and Granville.
33 34	Division Eight – 1979: Burke, Chatham, Graham, Hertford, Johnston, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Moore, Pender, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland,
34 35	Watauga, and Wayne.
55	w atauga, and w ayne.



D

	General Assem	bly of North Carolina	Session 2009
1 2 3	(2)	Advancing Scheduled Octennial Reappraisal. – Any conduct a reappraisal of real property earlier than require (a) may do so upon adoption by the board of county	ed by this subsection commissioners of a
4		resolution so providing. A copy of any such resolution	
5		promptly to the Department of Revenue. If the scheduled	
6		for any county is advanced as provided herein, real pro	1 2 2
7		shall thereafter be reappraised every eighth year followin	-
8		unless, in accordance with the provisions of this subdivis	
9		date shall be adopted by resolution of the board of count	·
10		which event a new schedule of octennial reappraisa	Is shall thereby be
11		established for that county.	
12	<u>(3)</u>	Delaying Scheduled Octennial Reappraisal. – Any cour	
13		general reappraisal to be effective in 2009 shall disr	
14		values generated in that reappraisal and use the appraise	
15		in the general reappraisal in effect immediately precedi	
16		reappraisal. The county must conduct its next general re	appraisal to become
17		effective no later than January 1, 2011.	
18	····''		0000 146 1
19		FION 3. G.S. 105-286, as rewritten by Section 1.1 of S.L	. 2008-146, reads as
20	rewritten:		
21		Effective July 1, 2009; for applicability, see note)	Time for general
22		praisal of real property.	• • • • •
23		nnial Cycle. – Each county must reappraise all real property	-
24	1	f G.S. 105-283 and G.S. 105-317 as of January 1 of the	•
25	•	ule and every eighth year thereafter, unless the county is	1
26		under subdivision (2)subdivisions (2) or (2a) of this se	ection or chooses to
27		under subdivision (3) of this section.	
28	(1)	Schedule of Initial Reappraisals.	
29		Division One – 1972: Avery, Camden, Ch	
30		Cumberland, Guilford, Harnett, Haywood, Lee, Montgo	mery, Northampton,
31		and Robeson.	
32		Division Two – 1973: Caldwell, Carteret, Co	
33		Davidson, Gaston, Greene, Hyde, Lenoir, Madison, Or	range, Pamlico, Pitt,
34		Richmond, Swain, Transylvania, and Washington.	
35		Division Three – 1974: Ashe, Buncombe, Chowan, I	Franklin, Henderson,
36		Hoke, Jones, Pasquotank, Rowan, and Stokes.	
37		Division Four – 1975: Alleghany, Bladen, Br	
38		Catawba, Dare, Halifax, Macon, New Hanover, Surry, T	•
39		Division Five – 1976: Bertie, Caswell, Forsyth, Irede	
40		Onslow, Person, Perquimans, Rutherford, Union, Vance	, Wake, Wilson, and
41		Yancey.	
42		Division Six – 1977: Alamance, Durham, Edgecon	
43		Mitchell, Nash, Polk, Randolph, Stanly, Warren, and Wi	
44		Division Seven – 1978: Alexander, Anson, Beau	ifort, Clay, Craven,
45		Davie, Duplin, and Granville.	
46		Division Eight – 1979: Burke, Chatham, Graham,	
47		McDowell, Mecklenburg, Moore, Pender, Rockingham,	Sampson, Scotland,
48		Watauga, and Wayne.	
49	(2)	Mandatory Advancement. – A county whose population	
50		according to the most recent annual population estim	
51		Secretary by the State Budget Officer must conduct a	i reappraisal of real

	General Assembly of North Carolina Session 2009				
1		property when the county's sales assessment ratio determined under			
2		G.S. 105-289(h) is less than .85 or greater than 1.15, as indicated on the			
3		notice the county receives under G.S. 105-284. A reappraisal required under			
1		this subdivision must become effective no later than January 1 of the earlier			
i		of the following years:			
)		a. The third year following the year the county received the notice.			
		b. The eighth year following the year of the county's last reappraisal.			
	<u>(2a)</u>	Delayed Reappraisal. – Any county that conducted a general reappraisal to			
		be effective in 2009 shall disregard the appraised values generated in that			
		reappraisal and use the appraised values determined in the general			
		reappraisal in effect immediately prior to the 2009 general reappraisal. The			
		county must conduct its next general reappraisal to become effective no later			
		<u>than January 1, 2011.</u>			
	(3)	Optional Advancement A county may conduct a reappraisal of real			
		property earlier than required by subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection if			
		the board of county commissioners adopts a resolution providing for			
		advancement of the reappraisal. The resolution must designate the effective			
		date of the advanced reappraisal and may designate a new reappraisal cycle			
		that is more frequent than the octennial cycle set in subdivision (1) of this			
		subsection. The board of county commissioners must promptly forward a			
		copy of the resolution adopted under this subdivision to the Department of			
		Revenue. A more frequent reappraisal cycle designated in a resolution			
		adopted under this subdivision continues in effect after a mandatory			
		reappraisal required under subdivision (2) of this subsection unless the board			
		of county commissioners adopts another resolution that designates a			
		different date for the county's next reappraisal.			
	"				
	SECT	TION 4. Section 2 of this act is effective when it becomes law and expires			
	L-1- 1 2000 C-	tion 2 of this act becomes affective July 1, 2000. The remainder of this act is			

SECTION 4. Section 2 of this act is effective when it becomes law and expires July 1, 2009. Section 3 of this act becomes effective July 1, 2009. The remainder of this act is effective when it becomes law.