GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE BILL 782

Short Title:	District 14 Court Personnel/Funds.	(Public)
--------------	------------------------------------	----------

Sponsors: Senator Atwater.

5

6 7

8

Referred to: Appropriations/Base Budget.

March 15, 2007

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT
3	JUDGE, THREE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEYS, SIX
4	ADDITIONAL MAGISTRATES, AND FIVE ADDITIONAL DEPUTY CLERKS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1.(a) G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

9			
10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	6	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson
28			Duplin
29			Jones

	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2007	
1			Onslow	
2	5	8	New Hanover	
3		C	Pender	
4	6A	3	Halifax	
5	6B	3	Northampton	
6	0.2	<u> </u>	Bertie	
7			Hertford	
8	7	7	Nash	
9			Edgecombe	
10			Wilson	
11	8	6	Wayne	
12	-	-	Greene	
13			Lenoir	
14	9	4	Granville	
15	-	·	(part of Vance	
16			see subsection (b))	
17			Franklin	
18	9A	2	Person	
19	7	_	Caswell	
20	9B	2	Warren	
21	7-	_	(part of Vance	
22			see subsection (b))	
23	10	16	Wake	
24	11	9	Harnett	
25		•	Johnston	
26			Lee	
27	12	9	Cumberland	
28	13	6	Bladen	
29			Brunswick	
30			Columbus	
31	14	7 <u>8</u>	Durham	
32	15A	4	Alamance	
33	15B	5	Orange	
34			Chatham	
35	16A	3	Scotland	
36			Hoke	
37	16B	5	Robeson	
38	17A	3	Rockingham	
39	17B	4	Stokes	
40			Surry	
41	18	13	Guilford	
42	19A	4	Cabarrus	
43	19B	7	Montgomery	
44			Moore	

G	eneral Assembly of N	orth Carolina	Session 2007
1			Randolph
2	19C	5	Rowan
3	20A	4	Stanly
4			Anson
5			Richmond
6	20B	1	(part of Union
7			see subsection (b))
8	20C	2	(part of Union
9			see subsection (b))
0	21	9	Forsyth
1	22	9	Alexander
2			Davidson
3			Davie
4			Iredell
5	23	4	Alleghany
6			Ashe
7			Wilkes
8			Yadkin
9	24	4	Avery
0			Madison
1			Mitchell
2			Watauga
3			Yancey
4	25	9	Burke
5		-	Caldwell
6			Catawba
7	26	18	Mecklenburg
8	27A	7	Gaston
9	27B	5	Cleveland
0	2,2	•	Lincoln
1	28	7	Buncombe
2	29A	3	McDowell
3	2711	3	Rutherford
4	29B	4	Henderson
5	2) B	·	Polk
6			Transylvania
7	30	6	Cherokee
8	30	O .	Clay
9			Graham
0			Haywood
1			Jackson
2			Macon
3			Swain."
.3			Swain.

1

2

3

4

5

6 7 **SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 14 authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009.

SECTION 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

8			No. of Full-Time
9	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
10	District	Counties	Attorneys
11	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
12		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
13		Perquimans	
14	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	7
15		Tyrrell, Washington	
16	3A	Pitt	11
17	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	11
18	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	16
19		Sampson	
20	5	New Hanover, Pender	16
21	6A	Halifax	5
22	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	5
23		Northampton	
24	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18
25	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	13
26	9	Franklin, Granville,	12
27		Vance, Warren	
28	9A	Person, Caswell	5
29	10	Wake	38
30	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	16
31	12	Cumberland	21
32	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	12
33	14	Durham	15 <u>18</u>
34	15A	Alamance	10
35	15B	Orange, Chatham	9
36	16A	Scotland, Hoke	6
37	16B	Robeson	13
38	17A	Rockingham	6
39	17B	Stokes, Surry	7
40	18	Guilford	30
41	19A	Cabarrus	8
42	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	8
43	19C	Rowan	7
44	19D	Moore	4

	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2007	
1 2	20A		Anson, Richmond,	10
3	20B		Stanly Union	8
4	20B		Forsyth	20
5 6	22		Alexander, Davidson, Davie, Iredell	20
7 8	23		Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes, Yadkin	7
9 10	24		Avery, Madison, Mitchell, Watauga, Yancey	6
11	25		Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18
12	26		Mecklenburg	49
13	27A		Gaston	14
14 15	27B		Cleveland, Lincoln	10
16	28		Buncombe	13
17	29A		McDowell, Rutherford	6
18	29B		Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	7
19 20 21	30		Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain."	11
22		SECTION 4.	There is appropriated from the C	General Fund to the Judicial

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of seven hundred seventy-nine thousand nine hundred three dollars (\$779,903) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of seven hundred twenty-seven thousand one hundred forty-nine dollars (\$727,149) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judge authorized for District Court District 14 by this act, the three additional assistant district attorneys authorized for Prosecutorial District 14 by this act, and five additional deputy clerks and six additional magistrates for Durham County.

SECTION 5. This act becomes effective July 1, 2007.