## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

S SENATE DRS55208-LL-125 (2/27)

Short Title: District 14 Court Personnel/Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Atwater.

Referred to:

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS FOR AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGE, THREE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEYS, SIX ADDITIONAL MAGISTRATES, AND FIVE ADDITIONAL DEPUTY CLERKS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.(a)** G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

8	
9	

2

3

4 5

6 7

10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	6	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson

Gener	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 20
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
			Pender
	6A	3	Halifax
	6B	3	Northampton
			Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
			Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
			Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
		·	(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
			Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	<i>71</i> 1	2	Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
	) <b>D</b>	2	(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	16	Wake
	11	9	Harnett
	11	9	Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	12	6	Bladen
	13	0	
			Brunswick
	1.4	7.0	Columbus
	14	7 <u>8</u>	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	5	Orange
	161	2	Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
	4 45	_	Hoke
	16B	5 3	Robeson
	17A		Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
			Surry
	18	13	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus

Page 2 S782 [Filed]

Ge	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 200
	19B	7	Montgomery
			Moore
			Randolph
	19C	5	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	1	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	20C	2	(part of Union
			see subsection (b))
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
		·	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	9	Burke
			Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	18	Mecklenburg
	27A	7	Gaston
	27B	5	Cleveland
		-	Lincoln
	28	7	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
	2)11	5	Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
	<b>-</b> , -	·	Polk
			Transylvania
	30	6	Cherokee
	50	U	Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon

S782 [Filed] Page 3

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

Swain."

**SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 14 authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing January 1, 2009.

## **SECTION 3.** G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

9			No. of Full-Time
10	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
11	District	Counties	Attorneys
12	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
13		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
14		Perquimans	
15	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	7
16		Tyrrell, Washington	
17	3A	Pitt	11
18	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	11
19	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	16
20		Sampson	
21	5	New Hanover, Pender	16
22	6A	Halifax	5
23	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	5
24		Northampton	
25	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	18
26	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	13
27	9	Franklin, Granville,	12
28		Vance, Warren	
29	9A	Person, Caswell	5
30	10	Wake	38
31	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	16
32	12	Cumberland	21
33	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	12
34	14	Durham	<del>15</del> <u>18</u>
35	15A	Alamance	10
36	15B	Orange, Chatham	9
37	16A	Scotland, Hoke	6
38	16B	Robeson	13
39	17A	Rockingham	6
40	17B	Stokes, Surry	7
41	18	Guilford	30
42	19A	Cabarrus	8
43	19B	Montgomery, Randolph	8
44	19C	Rowan	7

Page 4 S782 [Filed]

-	General Assembly of North Carolina			Session 2007	
1	19D		Moore	4	
2	20A		Anson, Richmond,	10	
3			Stanly		
4	20B		Union	8	
5	21		Forsyth	20	
6	22		Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	20	
7			Iredell		
8	23		Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	7	
9			Yadkin		
0	24		Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	6	
1			Watauga, Yancey		
2	25		Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	18	
3	26		Mecklenburg	49	
4	27A		Gaston	14	
5	27B		Cleveland,	10	
6			Lincoln		
7	28		Buncombe	13	
8	29A		McDowell, Rutherford	6	
9	29B		Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	7	
0	30		Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	11	
1			Haywood, Jackson, Macon,		
2			Swain."		
3		<b>SECTION 4.</b>	There is appropriated from the Gener	cal Fund to the Judicial	

**SECTION 4.** There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of seven hundred seventy-nine thousand nine hundred three dollars (\$779,903) for the 2007-2008 fiscal year and the sum of seven hundred twenty-seven thousand one hundred forty-nine dollars (\$727,149) for the 2008-2009 fiscal year to fund the additional district court judge authorized for District Court District 14 by this act, the three additional assistant district attorneys authorized for Prosecutorial District 14 by this act, and five additional deputy clerks and six additional magistrates for Durham County.

**SECTION 5.** This act becomes effective July 1, 2007.

S782 [Filed] Page 5