## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2007**

## SENATE BILL 1597 **RATIFIED BILL**

AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE CABARRUS COUNTY; THE CITIES OF CONCORD, DURHAM, KANNAPOLIS, AND LOCUST; AND THE TOWNS OF CARY, HARRISBURG, MIDLAND, MOUNT PLEASANT, AND STANFIELD TO PROVIDE DEVELOPMENT INCENTIVES IN EXCHANGE FOR REDUCTIONS IN ENERGY CONSUMPTION.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** Sections 1 and 2 of S.L. 2007-241 read as rewritten:

"SECTION 1. Land-Use Development Incentives. Cities and towns Counties and municipalities, for the purpose of reducing the amount of energy consumption by new development, and thereby promoting the public health, safety, and welfare, may adopt ordinances to grant a density bonus, make adjustments to otherwise applicable development requirements, or provide other incentives to a developer or builder within the county or municipality and its extraterritorial planning jurisdiction if the developer or builder agrees to construct new development or reconstruct existing development in a manner that the county or municipality determines, based on generally recognized standards established for such purposes, makes a significant contribution to the reduction of energy consumption.

'SECTION 2. This act applies only to the Cabarrus County, the Cities of Asheville, Charlotte, Concord, Durham, Kannapolis, Locust, and Wilmington, and to the Towns of Carrboro and Chapel Hill. Carrboro, Cary, Chapel Hill, Harrisburg, Midland, Mount Pleasant, and Stanfield."

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 30<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2008.

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate
Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives