GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2007

Η

HOUSE BILL 922

Committee Substitute Favorable 4/19/07 Senate State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 5/16/07 Corrected Copy 5/17/07

Short Title:	Bertie and Hyde School Board Elections.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		
	March 20, 2007	

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO ELECT THE BERTIE COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION ON A
3	NONPARTISAN BASIS AT THE TIME OF THE GENERAL ELECTION AND
4	TO CHANGE THE TIME WHEN THE MEMBERS OF THE HYDE COUNTY
5	BOARD OF EDUCATION TAKE OFFICE.
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	SECTION 1. Section 5(a) of S.L. 2006-171 reads as rewritten:
8	"SECTION 5.(a) Except as modified by this act, section, pursuant to Article 5 of
9	Chapter 115C of the General Statutes, the Bertie County Board of Education consists of
10	five members elected in nonpartisan elections in even-numbered years. Notwithstanding
11	the provisions of G.S. 115C-37(a), as terms expire, the Bertie County Board of
12	Education shall be elected at the time set by G.S. 163-1 for the general election of all
13	other county officers in even-numbered years. The election shall be conducted on a
14	nonpartisan plurality basis, with the results determined in accordance with
15	G.S. 163-292. Candidates shall file notices of candidacy not earlier than noon on the
16	second Monday in June and not later than noon on the first Friday in July. The names of
17	the candidates shall be printed on the ballot without reference to any party affiliations.
18	Vacancies in office shall be filled in accordance with G.S. 115C-37(f). As provided in
19	Chapter 764 of the Session Laws of 1961, and as has been the practice since that time,
20	elections shall be by residency districts. That is, candidates for each of the five seats,
21	and board members elected to those seats, shall reside in particular districts, but all seats
22	shall be voted upon by all eligible voters in the county. The five districts are:
23	District 1 – Windsor Township.
24	District 2 – Merry Hill and Whites Townships.
25	District 3 – Colerain and Mitchell Townships.
26	District 4 – Roxabel and Woodville Townships.
27	District 5 – Snakebite and Indian Woods Townships."

4

General Assembly of North Carolina

1	SECTION 2. G.S. 115C-37(d) reads as rewritten:
2	"(d) Members to Qualify. – Each county board of education shall hold a meeting
3	in DecemberJune following the election. At that meeting, newly elected members of the
4	board of education shall qualify by taking the oath of office prescribed in Article VI,
5	Sec. 7 of the Constitution.
6	This subsection shall not have the effect of repealing any local or special acts
7	relating to boards of education of any particular counties whose membership to said
8	boards is chosen by a vote of the people."
9	SECTION 3. Section 2 of the bill applies to Hyde County only.
10	

10 **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.